SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-10-2006, 01:30 PM   #1
simalden
Registered User
 
simalden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: austria
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default cage modeling?

hi,
how can i model the top side of this cage?any suggestion?
thnx,
simalden
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kafes_2.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	47.6 KB
ID:	31304  
simalden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2006, 01:54 PM   #2
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

bit tricky and fiddly, but i would use curves.

Go into all views and use one of your side or front views.

Then create a 2 linear cv curve. Matching exactly where the wire is.

The create a NURBS Circle and position it at the top or bottomw of your curve.
(The circle is the radius of the wire, and the cruve is the length)

Select the circle then shift select the curve, then under modelling go to > Surfaces > Extrude. tick the box

At the bottom, either keep output to NURBS or poly's up to you.

Delete the curve and circle and your done.



Duplicate it loads and you have a cage.


Thats how i would do it anyway
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	im.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	28.9 KB
ID:	31306  
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2006, 02:40 PM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Either with extruded curves and then the duplicate with the number of instancesround an axis (as mr Pix suggested) or, depending on the level of detail, make it solid then use a transparancy map created form the UV's of the area in question and apply that to it.

Cheers
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2006, 04:42 PM   #4
simalden
Registered User
 
simalden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: austria
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default cage modeling?

thanx for the clue of the next step but my problem is different.i wrote it on the picture.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kafes_new.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	36.1 KB
ID:	31308  
simalden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2006, 04:57 PM   #5
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

whats wrong with it?
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2006, 06:19 PM   #6
simalden
Registered User
 
simalden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: austria
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default cage modeling?

top of the cage is a lofted surface.first i drawed horizontally curves and then lofted the surfaces
but there are gaps between the lofted surfaces and whole cover doecn't look smoothly and nice.that's why
i thought that it can be another way to model this part of cage.

thans
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cage.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	23.2 KB
ID:	31314  
simalden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2006, 11:35 PM   #7
dockode
Registered User
 
dockode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm just curious, if you render that out do you still see the problems your describing. Sometimes nurbs have that problem when your working with them, but it sorts itself out in the render.
__________________
...and that is how I saved the world.
dockode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2006, 05:26 AM   #8
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

looks like its in polys, cant u convert it to polys if not, then combine and merge all the verts if needed,....then smooth it wen ur done?
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.