SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Toon Outline question...
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-11-2006, 10:14 AM   #1
erictacti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 208
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Toon Outline question...

Hello, all. I have been working on a scene that I am toon shading. I have been adding outlines to the geometry, and everything is going good thus far. But, I'm turning the outlines into polygons, hich has slowed down my interface tremendously. So, what I've done is added all of my outlines to their own layer, and only make them visible for renders. This is working fine, but I'm wondering if anyone has any better ideas? Is there another way have the outline layer visible, and not slow down my interface? It's not a big deal, I'd just like some options.

Thanks in advance!
__________________
Eric Tacti
3D Artist
erictacti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2006, 11:13 AM   #2
Azman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello

Ive had some trouble with my interface slowing down aswell. If you go to Display and turn on Fast interaction that some times helps

It works by displaying a low resolution of everything onscreen while you move around the scene. As soon as you stop it displays the full res version again.

I know it works well for Nurbs but im not too sure about polys, worth a try though.

Azman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2006, 11:57 AM   #3
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

could you use a toon shader instead? toon shaders can create thick outlines around your main objects and also include as many (or as little) colors as you want in the main object. you might also be able to just have the shader outline the objects and not mess with the original materials on the interior of your characters if you combine them in a layered shader.

if you're just looking to find a way to make the layers visible, try changing the outline layer to template mode (that's the box next to the v in your display layer).
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2006, 12:08 PM   #4
erictacti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 208
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Azman, I have fast interaction on, but no luck there.

Neostrider, I am using toon shaders. And I'm creating pfxToonOutlines for all of my geometry. It's just that I'm converting them to polys, just because I think it looks better. But, the layered shader idea sounds intriguing. Care to expound upon that? And sorry for any confusion my original question may have caused, but no, I'm not confused about how to turn a layer's visibility on and off. I already know about the layer display options. I'm not that much of a noob! :p
__________________
Eric Tacti
3D Artist
erictacti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2006, 12:50 PM   #5
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

i haven't used the new contour shader networks that have been incorporated into maya... i always kinda followed this tutorial here: http://www.fenriz.org/projects/maya/..._shading_i.php

so i wasn't aware you could convert the outlines to actual geometry... what i'm thinking of actually just draws thick lines around your object, but it's not a separate object. it doesn't take long to set up, so take a look anyway... but as far as your problem, no idea.

edit: on the 2nd page it addresses actual textures added to the contour shader. that might help ya too *shrug*
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2006, 12:58 PM   #6
erictacti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 208
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah, I did that tute awhile back. Thanks, though. The new toon shaders in Maya are pretty cool, you should check them out. You can do quite a bit with them, as the options are pretty in depth.

Thanks for the help, guys. I appreciate you trying to help my issue!
__________________
Eric Tacti
3D Artist
erictacti is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.