SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Best batch render ?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-02-2007, 01:32 PM   #1
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default Best batch render ?

I never does batch render .. and now i have a scean about 900 frames animation and i want to render it with good quality ...

my PC - > 3Ghz 1 GB ram 256 Video ( if this matter )




So how i can batch render it with best quality to look good ... which are the settings ...

ColdWave
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2007, 11:26 PM   #2
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

check the free tuts here, you can download one by Mike that will give you all the news about how to batch render

too much to go into here, unless Simon wants to save yu He likes writting essays
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2007, 12:17 AM   #3
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

To set up the quality for a batch render is the same as rendering a single frame. Its all setup in the Render Globals.

Open it (the clapper board, with the 2 dots on the left in the menu) and set the render globals to whatever render you wish to use. Say, Maya Software. Change the settings in there to match what your preference is and then go to the common tab and change the following:

File Prefix Name (optional)
Frame/Animation Ext from name.ext (single frame) to one of the options the are not Single Frame and is to you liking. Choose name.#.ext (this is the file name followed by the frame number followed by the file extension)
Image Format to your prefered option (I advise choosing TGA, TIF or JPEG) - note; do not use the avi option for rendering movies. Try it once and you will see why )
Set the start frame to 1 and the end frame to 900 (as this is the length of the animation - you may have to change this to suit each camera if you have multiple cameras in scene and in post want to chop and change from one to another)
Since your animation is 900 frames then change the Frame Padding to 3. At the top you will notice it changes the example file to blahblah.001.tga to blahblah.900.tga (or something similar).
Ammend the camera to the one your animation is set for (Default is Persp)
Finally ammend the Image size settings to the size you want.

Now Choose the Rendering Menu set from the drop down on the left and go to Render > Batch Render and click on the option box and tick Use all Available Processors and cick the Batch Render Button and away you go.

I suggest you run a few single frame renders at random throughout you animation so you are happy with the scene layout, lighting, effects, camera angles etc... Also run a playblast to check you happy with the scene and the animation.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2007, 12:47 AM   #4
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

oh 10x a lot man
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2007, 03:50 PM   #5
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

you might like to render in layers too, you can do the shadows separately, or the objects and background separately (example if the background does not move or the camera is not tracking) and rely on your alpha channel when you put it into your compositor.

rendering layers, might be worth rendering just the moving parts of the animation.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2007, 01:53 AM   #6
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

it's not anything complicated ... its simple scean with some charachter animation ... it's my first project :attn: i don't get any good details or any good shading networks ... but with practise i will get better

ColdWave
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.