SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Part of my model goes transparent when I assign a texture?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-03-2007, 05:41 PM   #1
christophergrigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Part of my model goes transparent when I assign a texture?

Hi everyone hopefully someone can solve my problem as I have not come up with a solution yet (obviously).

I have made a wine rack for a project I am currently undergoing. I have a wood texture I want to desingate to the wine rack. When I assign a lambert texture to a model everything is fine. When I go to get the picture (go to file..) however the top of the wine rack turns transparent?

I have tried containing all UV's to the picutre (in the UV texture editor) and tred deleting all the history but neither of these have worked.

If anyone could give me an explanation to why this happens I would be v grateful

Thanks

Chris
christophergrigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 05:45 PM   #2
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

First thing to check is that all the normal are pointing in the correct direction.
Next remap your UV's, but sounds lkike it could be a UV issue.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 06:28 PM   #3
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,454
Thanks: 63
Thanked 162 Times in 155 Posts
Default

is this happen before or after you select the wood file.

If its after then the wood file may have an alpha channel on it which maya connects to the transparency part of the shader.

which can be removed in the hypershade.

If its before sorry cant help.

good luck
__________________
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 06:41 PM   #4
christophergrigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the swift replies,

I cleaned up the model then remapped the UV's using cylindrical mapping and it worked. Guess the UV's on the top weren't getting any of the texture!

Thanks again

Chris
christophergrigg is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 11:39 AM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 09:28 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.