SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / rotate pan zoom change
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 31-03-2007, 01:12 AM   #1
stenson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default rotate pan zoom change

Hi there.
I'm new to maya.
I want to change the hotkeys for navigation.
Now if i want to pan i need to press alt+mmb.
Instead i want i to be like modo and lightwave, alt+shift+press.
But i can't find this hotkeys among the other hotkeys.

please help.
stenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2011, 05:33 PM   #2
floey
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation

Hi, I know this is a really really really old thread, so I'm sorry for bumping it, however, if someone could answer this, it would be greatly appreciated.

I'm new to Maya and was looking through the beginner's tutorials only to find the "tracking" command key in Maya slightly annoying as it requires the use of the middle tracking scroll button, so I would love to modify it to ctrl+alt+click and pan or something along those lines in Maya 2011.

Any help is appreciated! Thanks.




Last edited by floey : 16-05-2011 at 05:44 PM.
floey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2011, 06:45 PM   #3
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

Zooming can be doing via the middle mouse scroll, and you can disable that under the "Interface" section under Windows>Settings/ Preferences>Preferences. But its "officially" alt+right click and drag.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2011, 07:56 PM   #4
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

i would advise anyone looking to work with maya against changing commands and making hotkeys. The nature of the work means that people move from company to company. Setting up hotkeys all the time would be pretty time consuming. Especially if you are only going to be there for a couple of weeks.
just my opinion.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2011, 05:00 AM   #5
floey
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh okays Thanks for your replies. I think I'll just learn a new set of hotkeys then.. It's just that, I keep mixing it up with Lightwave and it gets frustrating at times.
floey is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM
How to change thread picture daverave Members Lounge 5 01-12-2010 05:20 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.