SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Smooth Shade issues
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2007, 02:54 PM   #1
makku
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Smooth Shade issues

Freshly installed Maya 8.5 on a brand new Intel Mac. For some reason Smooth Shade doesn't work whenever I enable it. It is like it can't read or understand my video card. It can't decide how it wants to display my scene. Sometimes all the shapes are pure black and sometimes all white, and all sorts of other colours. Definately not what it should be. This keeps changing as you select different objects or navigate the camera around the scene.

My video card should work, it is not fantastic but here is the specs

Intel GMA 950:

Chipset Model: GMA 950
Type: Display
Bus: Built-In
VRAM (Total): 64 MB of shared system memory
Vendor: Intel (0x8086)
Device ID: 0x27a2
Revision ID: 0x0003

Perhaps there is something wrong with my Mac? I know it works on other Macs because that is what I use in class at Uni...

Has anyone else seen this problem?
makku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 08:29 PM   #2
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: Smooth Shade issues

Quote:
Originally posted by makku
Has anyone else seen this problem?
it's difficult to see without a picture - post a screen grab.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 08:54 PM   #3
makku
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I attached a screen grab...

The perspective view is the view with smooth shade turned on.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	picture 8.png
Views:	76
Size:	234.8 KB
ID:	33796  
makku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 10:25 PM   #4
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think this has something to do with Intel GMA not being qualified for running Maya.

makku > 'Has anyone else seen this problem?'

Nope, but I have to say I've used Maya 6.0 PLE at school which runs on Dells with an older GMA variant. It ran all right except for the 386 level performance, the lack of high quality mode and the constant crashing.
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 10:37 PM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Have you pressed 7 to show the lighting or 6 to show the texture?

If its 7 then I would suggest that you have too much light (as you have quite a few)

Other than that I would suggest you get a new graphics card as if its onboard it wont really cut it.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 04:39 AM   #6
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

yeah,, he has it on 7 mode, try pressing 6
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 11:58 AM   #7
makku
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep it is the same in 6 and 7... sometimes it is all black or even red. weird.

I know the graphics card works on other computers with the same specs so I thought I might have the settings wrong, but perhaps it is a faulty card...
makku is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.