SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2007, 08:43 AM   #1
linvetb6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Drawing in maya

I remember seeing someone draw poses and sketching stuff in maya once. but i cant remember what the tool, mel or pulgin was. i would like to know to draw out my poses out before i randomly make posses.

any of you know whaa im talking about and if so where can i find it?
linvetb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 09:14 AM   #2
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

iirc jason scheiffler had a utility for that.
there was another that was for windows, and worked on desktops not maya specific. but its really handy.
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 09:55 AM   #3
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

their is always the paint-effects window, you can draw on a canvas in that.
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 08:36 PM   #4
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Why would you want to draw in Maya? ThatÕs like making a website in PS!

The only thing I can help you with is to go to the Paint Effects canvas. IÕve used it before to make a grass texture, but thatÕs about it.

  Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 02:35 AM   #5
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

umm, jr.who,
a major part of making a website is in PS, so that point didnt make sense, lol

but yeah, painteffects canvas
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 02:41 AM   #6
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Joopson
umm, jr.who,
a major part of making a website is in PS, so that point didnt make sense, lol

but yeah, painteffects canvas
I meant programming.

You canÕt really create a website in PS.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 02:49 AM   #7
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

oh, that explains it
HTML isnt a programming, so you are right!
unless you use flash. so TECHNICALLY you are wrong, but why the heck am i continuing this? lol
im sooo bored....


good luck with the painteffects canvas!
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 10:36 AM   #8
linvetb6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

umm. u use PS to make a website have a nice design. id rather make a cool website that works then a crapy looking website that works just the same. coding is not king this stuff is not meant to be technical but made to be used as a tool

animation is an art. and i find it better if i draw out pose's, such as in traditional animation, beacuse i get a more fluid exaggerated pose that i personally can not do in maya by just moving the controls all over the place

its just a personal thing i need, and am used to doing more of. traditional animation is intuitive and thats why most cg animation isnt great, but i want that traditional look in my cg, that makes great animation. great examples are the Pixar movies which were made by guys with traditional backgrounds. theres reasons why mo cap looks like robots on sleeping pills. u need that speacial touch from an artist. the aim is not tv animation but cinematic animation.

well i found the grease pencil. ill see how well it works later
linvetb6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 03:27 PM   #9
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

2d animation staples like exaggeration and anticipation of motion can be achieved in 3d 'by just moving controls all over the place'. you just have to be familiar with the way things work. one of the best ways to get slight overmovements is by tweaking your animation curves in the graph editor... by moving tangents to change the way something eases-in or eases-out (or oversteps its keyframe value), you'd be surprised how easy it is to not only create slight (or even dramatic) overcompensated moves, but also to create them fluidly.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 05:32 PM   #10
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

*sighs*

Guys,

Believe it or not, you canÕt entirely create a website in PS! Where do you put the HTML?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 09:12 PM   #11
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hasn't motion capture kinda obsoleted moving controls around and drawing poses in animation for characters?
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 10:06 PM   #12
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Architect
Hasn't motion capture kinda obsoleted moving controls around and drawing poses in animation for characters?
Nope, not really, as its very expensive to capture and set up, get equipment for etc etc etc, where as animation only requires one person, with one wage, one software (in an ideal world) where as mo cap requires a lot of equipment, people, actors, etc etc.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 11:25 PM   #13
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

not only that, but after you import mocap input, you still have to clean it up... the computer records data with a certain margin of error... so even though it's recording real movement, you're still gonna find keys that are way off, and they need to be fixed.

besides, when you're dealing with cartoon characters you don't want realistic motion all the time. you want the extreme poses to remind you that it is in fact a cartoon. when you're trying to render photorealistic stuff and lifelike human characters, that's when you want biorealistic movement.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 11:49 PM   #14
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Very ture neo, I didnt want to go into the clean up stage and add that on!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 02:17 PM   #15
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Architect
Hasn't motion capture kinda obsoleted moving controls around and drawing poses in animation for characters?
It looks terribly shit to be honest lol, neo has hit it on the head. Alot of character work, even in feature film involves things that stunt men cannot do or creatures taht do not exist.

and even in things like king kong where they use elaborate motion capture rigs animators often just end up deleting the cap data anyway.

Inbetb6 as far as an approach for quick posing in maya, i just shove a cel or assitate over the mointor and draw on it rubs off too.

Last edited by LauriePriest : 07-04-2007 at 02:20 PM.
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.