SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / mAYA 8.5 OR 8 INTO 7.0
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2007, 02:23 AM   #1
alessandro754
Registered User
 
alessandro754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: london
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default mAYA 8.5 OR 8 INTO 7.0

OK... I STARTED DOING SOME MODELING OF A BUILDINGS DESIGN IN MY HOUSE, NOE IS PRACTICALLY COMPLETE DONE , HOWEVER RENDERING IS ANOTHER STEP WHICH WILL TAKE PROBABLY A DAY OR SO ... THE THING IS I NEED A BETTER COMPUTER AND THE PROBLEM IS THAT I'VE MODELED MY DESIGN IN MAYA 8 AND 8.5 BUT AT UNI THEY HAVE 7 .... SO WHEN I TRY TO OPEN ON 7 IT COME WITH A ERROR SCRIPT ...
DOES ANYONE KNOWS HOW CAN I FIX THIS PROBLEM

MANY THANKS
__________________
There's a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.
alessandro754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 02:36 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Theres no realy way round it as maya isnt backwards compatable, I think you have to save your scene as a .ma file then open it in notepad (or any text editor, not a word processing app though) then change where it has 8.0 or 8.5 into the version that they have at uni.


I think that there might be a converter that someone made knocking arround, probably worth a google.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 02:42 AM   #3
the_brein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: commonwealth of los angeles
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

dont you have to save it in acii?
the_brein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 02:44 AM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

thats the .ma file (maya asci) as far as I know.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 02:51 AM   #5
alessandro754
Registered User
 
alessandro754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: london
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

MANY THANKS WORKED REALLY WELL !!!
__________________
There's a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.
alessandro754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 05:05 AM   #6
the_brein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: commonwealth of los angeles
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gster123
thats the .ma file (maya asci) as far as I know.
youre right. the other format is .mb
the_brein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 05:17 AM   #7
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Remeber when you are going backwards you may enounter issues in the older versions esp. if there is something done in 8 or 8.5 that does not exist in 7 (new tools/features). Deleteing the history may be the way to stop that, but there is no guarantee, you may still encounter issues along the way.

Autodesk and Alias do not support doing this as it is not recommended. The only other way can see it working is to export the file as an fbx file and import it into 7. This would be the recommendation I would give to anyone swapping from app to app.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 07:40 AM   #8
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Maybe it got a error because your caps lock was broken.
  Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.