Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-04-2007, 12:39 AM   #1
cosmos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Plugin for importing 3ds

I can't import a .3ds file into maya.What plugin do I need to do that?
I checked the plugin manager in maya but there's no such thing.
Please help!
__________________
!
cosmos is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cosmos For This Useful Post:
chandra4158 (08-06-2012)
Old 19-04-2007, 01:27 AM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

you need to download and install Maya bonus tools from autodesk then load the 3dsImport.mll in the plugin manager.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2007, 01:38 AM   #3
cosmos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

jsprogg you're the man!thanks.
__________________
!
cosmos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2007, 05:27 AM   #4
99GsTurbo
Subscriber
 
99GsTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

is there a 3ds export lol because i hate exporting objs and importing them into max because they always give me problems with normals. anyways i never knew bonus tools has that mll, lol i use bonus tools all the time and never checked. well i cant now without my comp but you know what i mean lol sweet, thanks for the help
__________________
Toyota Supra WIP


I create feeling in others that they themseleves don’t understand.
99GsTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2007, 05:40 AM   #5
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

turbo if you load the 3dsImport.mll then 3ds also becomes available as an export option too.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2007, 10:09 AM   #6
SkoolKid
Registered User
 
SkoolKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs down

I downloaded the Maya Bonus Tolls but it just won't let me Open the installer.
SkoolKid is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.