SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / subD attaching problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-05-2007, 12:02 AM   #1
BadG3r
Subscriber
 
BadG3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default subD attaching problem

Hey guys!

I tried a to mirror subDs and then attaching them. My problem is that by attaching the geometry i get little spaces between the two.
incresing the threshold just f***s up the mesh and the spaces are still there.
its not a display error cause i converted it to polys and looked at border edges.

i tried everything. from duplicating attaching.

converting into polys then combining and merging the verts. but then i get a little seam/hard edge in the middle.

any guess???
BadG3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2007, 12:33 AM   #2
severinianthony
Registered User
 
severinianthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm sorry that I can't say much about SubD's; I've never used them.

However, for the latter part of your post, if all the merging goes well-and-good when you convert to polys, the hard edge can be adjusted be selecting the edges that make up the central "seam," and going to Edit Polygons -> Normals -> Soften/Harden -> Options Box (Maya 7.0).

Smaller numbers (down to 0) make the edges more harsh, defined and obvious; larger numbers (up to 180) smooth it out and make it look more refined.

For Maya 8.0...I'm not 100% certain (I don't use it), but the option is under the polygons menu set, and there are just simply two options in one of the menus; "make hard" and "make soft," or something like that. They're straightforward in what they do.
__________________
severinianthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2007, 12:45 AM   #3
BadG3r
Subscriber
 
BadG3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thx for the reply but I figured it out.

mirror, attach. after that i switch to poly mode merge the vertices and everything was nice and smooth. after that i converted it into polys.

thx again.

Badger
BadG3r is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.