SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Scaling in side view...
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-06-2007, 06:55 AM   #1
Altadena
Registered User
 
Altadena's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Scaling in side view...

when i try to scale in side or top view, it shows the little lines to scale but wont let me scale anything.. anyone know why
Altadena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2007, 09:01 AM   #2
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

need more info..,
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2007, 10:41 PM   #3
Altadena
Registered User
 
Altadena's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well it doesnt let me scale in side or top view... dont know hoe much more i can describe it, like it doesnt show the scale tool when i push it, and i tried both "R" and the button on the left of the screen and no luck
Altadena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2007, 10:27 AM   #4
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

sounds like a graphics card problem?? where's the big guns.., Gster, some guy, and a few of the others know much more about this stuff than me.

sounds no good to me. Id first dump the preferences (just rename your documents/maya/preferences to 'old preferences' and a new set of preferences will be made next time you load the app.

id try a repair.., reinstall the app!

if you are using maya 8.5 I wouldn't be surprised if its a bug in the app. seems full of them.., have you checked the service pack thats available for 8.5. (personally I think 7.1 was the maya pinnacle but Im no maya expert, just a hobbiest so all the subtler tools are lost on me.)

hope someone can help you with this.., I have had this problem too but usually I just reboot and all is fine.

try dumping the preferences, that will reset EVERYTHING (well, most things).
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2007, 11:14 AM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I think that its like whatMirek said the graphics card, what have you got as Maya can be a bit pickey when it comes to graphics cards, I woild try to download the latest drivers for it and give that a go.

I'd be surprised if its a bug with 8.5, as this would have come up a lot in othe forums, ive got to ask what were the bugs in 8.5? I've never had a problem with it! Must be me and the lack of tools that I use!

Can you scale in the persp view but not some of the orthographic ones? If thats the case then I woukld go with the graphics card
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2007, 06:27 AM   #6
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

had some extrude problems problems and when I went though undos I would get some BIZZARE results in polygon/sub-D mode. Objects I had never even imagined much less made.., so the bugs i have encountered are, one for which auto desk have a fix for is, the extrude (I forget if its edges or faces or what ever) and another is a problem with history related to polygon mode and sub Ds.

not a lot Gster, but more than encountered with other versions. Im not a big fan of 8.5 and still staring t 8.5 sp1a and wondering if I should apply it and what will it do to moujou, and blast code amongst other things.., any ideas there?.., but then again I haven't used it a lot (I recently noticed the edge loop and bridge tools.., very cool) and others such as HPY Matt praise some of its features.

cheers dude
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2007, 10:30 AM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

A lot of plug ins/scripts generally work, unless its something that goes into then out of maya (kind of like realflow) then it might have a problem, but I would think that s long as youve got the plug in for 8.5 it will be fine.

I've never had a problem with 8.5, might be the OS that its running on or something, or If i've had it I might have worked round it?

One of the worst bugs that I thought (in my history of maya) was when it was when they had the screwey image planes, that you had to mod the env file for in V7 (i think)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2007, 02:02 AM   #8
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

yes, image plans are much more manageable now.., but maybe for me it was not finding the translation controls in the AE 6.5 for at least after 12 months of using Maya. I'm not sure what you mean envelope file.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2007, 05:36 AM   #9
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

no problems, no reinstall anything.., help files.., no problem.., dont know what the fix is but iut must be important..??
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.