SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Huge UV mapping problem! (I need help FAST)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-06-2007, 01:17 AM   #1
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation Huge UV mapping problem! (I need help FAST)

Hey guys,

I sat down to do my tut for today (G.I. Texturing), IÕm on part 3, and pretty much all of the UVing has been done through cylindrical mapping. When I finish sewing my ear to the head I zoomed out. ThatÕs when I saw the major problem. For some reason it shows 2 UVs for the ear. I zoom out some more, and 2 other parts that I had UVed seem to have been ÒduplicatedÓ too.

IÕve never come along a problem like this. IÕve deleted my history, ran an OSS, done everything that I could think of, and it doesnÕt seem to be helping.

IÕve even come across another problem. I have the wireframe on shaded turned off, and yet it still shows (some of) the wireframe.

IÕve posted some pics to show what IÕm talking about.

I would really appreciate a fast answer, because IÕve got a bunch of other stuff to do today, and I donÕt know if I could do it, because this will be on my mind all day.

-Jr.Who
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ear1.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	151.3 KB
ID:	35072  
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2007, 01:18 AM   #2
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Pic 2 (zoomed out one):
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ear2.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	130.2 KB
ID:	35073  
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2007, 01:19 AM   #3
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Pic 3 (weird wireframe):
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wire.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	161.2 KB
ID:	35074  
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2007, 01:56 AM   #4
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

try this:

convert to subdivs, then enter into polygon edit mode, then go back to standard mode and convert back to polygons.

this is caused when you either undo your conversion, or you convert to polygons without exiting polygon mode.
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2007, 02:03 AM   #5
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

So I converted it to SubDs. Now if I understand you correctly, you mean the thing where I right click on the SubD and go to where it says Polygon (or Standard)? Well, I did that, and it isnÕt there! :headbang:
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2007, 02:29 AM   #6
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Looks to me like you may have duplicated the entire geometry. Do a CleanUp operation on your model (ensure that the non manifold option it ticked)
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2007, 02:34 AM   #7
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

R@nSiD,

I just did that, but it didnÕt help.

Here are the options I had on:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	options.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	85.1 KB
ID:	35076  
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2007, 02:35 AM   #8
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Reset those settings and just tick the non manifold tick box and then run it again.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2007, 02:46 AM   #9
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

NothingÔs happening. :shakehead If you PM me your email address, IÕd be glad to email you the file.
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2007, 04:12 AM   #10
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Just lookin at your model and the news is not good.

It seems you have got about 5 extrusions of the same geo on top of each other... This usually comes from extruding on error.

If you still have the full history, find the extrusions. Theres not a lot I can do to fix that appart from going from face to face anf manually delete the addition faces and then apply the texture again.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2007, 04:47 AM   #11
Radical Edward
Registered User
 
Radical Edward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 234
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you're using maya 8.0 this is a bug when you undo a polygon->subdiv; you end up with a duplicate lot of geometry in the same place. pain in the backside.

if I recall, you can get rid of a layer by paint selecting all the faces and then deleting (since it only paint selects a single layer)
Radical Edward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2007, 04:50 AM   #12
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by R@nSiD
Just lookin at your model and the news is not good.

It seems you have got about 5 extrusions of the same geo on top of each other... This usually comes from extruding on error.

If you still have the full history, find the extrusions.
If youÕre talking about the history like when you merge some vertices or cut a face, I delete that every once in a while.

Quote:
Originally posted by R@nSiD
Theres not a lot I can do to fix that appart from going from face to face anf manually delete the addition faces and then apply the texture again.
Holy crap. Whatever you are talking about just inspired me to do something. IÕve gone in the UV editor into face mode, selected a face, hit select shell, and then deleted those faces (unless the actual faces would disappear off of my model in the perspective view.

It fixed my problem, and thereÕs only one setback: I have to re-sew the ear to the head. IÕm sure I can cope with that.

Thanks a lot for all your help! :attn:
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2007, 05:29 AM   #13
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I would have another problem right after I solve a major oneÉÉ

Now I know that IÕve seen this one before, but I forgot how to fix it. For some reason some of the vertices got ÒunmergedÓ around some areas. Well, I tried to re-merge them, but to no avail. IÕve tried performing a cleanup on my mesh and all that, but that doesnÕt help either. For some reason it will only select 1 of the 2 vertices that I want to merge when I try to select them.

Any ideas?
  Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.