SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / problem I still can't solve
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-2007, 07:12 AM   #1
danotronXX
Subscriber
 
danotronXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default problem I still can't solve

ok this one I actually thought about for a long time before I decided to post but heres the problem

every time I follow the missile trail tutorial from highend3d I get the last couple particles to glow for no reason. no where on my rgb ramp does it go bright on its end and the opacity ramp is completely dark in its end. I think this would apply mostly to the ones who've encountered the same problem in the past. any ideas what I'm doing wrong and how you fixed it? i've been trying to figure this out for the past couple weeks.

danotronXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 07:19 AM   #2
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

That doesnt look like an issue with your ramp. more like an issue with the way the particles are ending. Check the settings you have used and ensure that you are getting them to end correctly. best tocheck the way they are working without render, watch the trail and see if it is spawning more particles as the die.

cant offer much more than that tbh. Sorry...
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 08:11 AM   #3
BadG3r
Subscriber
 
BadG3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

looks to me like cloud particles.

maybe the prob lies in the software render. try the following: create a particle sample info node and pipe it into the transparency/and maybe the other one "opacity" i think, of the cloud shader. try it out...
BadG3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 09:18 AM   #4
danotronXX
Subscriber
 
danotronXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

thanks for the help
I've looked at the nonrendered particles and they look fine when I start at 1. But I noticed when I start it at frame 120 they start creating themselves somewhere down the line randomly and looked similar to the render I posted. so since I'm rendering frames 120 to 300 instead of 1 to 300, I'm assuming my renderer is looking at the particles then instead of starting from 1. if that's the case, I guess my only solution is to render from 1 to 300.
danotronXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 07:39 PM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

As particles are dynamics they are calculated on a per frame basis, jumping to frame 120 might be messing up the calcualtion.

Try cashing the particles and then rendering form frame 120, as i'm guessing that mayas attempting to calculate them based off 120 as the start, not knowing whats happened before (even though nothing has) due to it wanting the calcs to start off at frame 1, caching them from frame 1 to 300 stores the data so it just references the positions of the particles from the cache with no calcs and should stop the strange ones appearing from the clacs on the fly.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 01:09 PM   #6
danotronXX
Subscriber
 
danotronXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

thanks gster123 the caching seems like a really good idea. I'm gonna give it a go and see if it fixed it.
danotronXX is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.