SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / How do I make a ocean loop?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-11-2007, 11:21 PM   #1
Tiaka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How do I make a ocean loop?

Hi there
Could someone please help me.
I would like a simple way to make a ocean loop for 50 frames. I found one example where you have to combine two or three oceans and then use a lot of coding. Could not understand it.
All I want is to make a ocean loop. Surely there must be a easy way.
Look forward to your ideas.
Thanks
Tiaka
Tiaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2007, 12:16 AM   #2
djknucklez1
Registered User
 
djknucklez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 131
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

What do you exactly mean by an ocean loop?
__________________
EA Games
djknucklez1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2007, 02:10 AM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Think he means that the animation is loopable ie the start frame andthe end frame of the animation are the same.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2007, 08:43 AM   #4
Tiaka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Request an ocean loop

Thanks for your interest
Yes thats right the start and end frames are the same. I have tried to copy the first frame and then paste as the last frame but it doesn' seem to work. The ocean still jumps at the last frame.
Would there be any other 3d programms which be able to loop an ocean.
I would have thought it would be a popular request really.

Thanks
Tiaka
Tiaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2007, 03:35 PM   #5
djknucklez1
Registered User
 
djknucklez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 131
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Are you using your graph editor? This is what you need to look at in order to copy and paste key frames. Don't go by the timeline on the bottom.
__________________
EA Games
djknucklez1 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.