SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / problem with sprites
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2007, 12:26 AM   #1
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default problem with sprites

im looking at a tut on sprites.., and when laying a texture onto the lambert.., onto the sprite.., the texture on the sprite (in the view port) looks slightly transparent. It seems an inherent thing with sprites.., add a graphic texture and it looks dull compared with the actual 64 by 64 texture i made in PS.

in the tut the guy goes to some colour RGB sliders and multplies the colour with that.., as well as there is an opacity value in the 'render these attributes' button in the particle shape attributes.., well all that IS bute.., except that this guy has an earlier version of maya and 2008.., well i cant find these atributes at all in 2008.., and thats all i use now.., so

does ayone know//. first, what im talking about and is not totally confused by my attempt at explanation

and second.., if you do understand.., can you tell me how to bring my sprite graphic to full colour and/or where these attributes live now in the maya enviroment

M
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy

Last edited by mirek03 : 07-12-2007 at 12:31 AM.
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 12:34 AM   #2
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

this might make things clearer (excuse the pun)

btw, how do i use the quote button.., im gettting people quote me and i cant quote back??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	star.84.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	42.8 KB
ID:	37522  
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 01:44 AM   #3
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mirek03

btw, how do i use the quote button.., im gettting people quote me and i cant quote back??
Hmm, that sucks!!!

Select your Object and open the attribute editor, click on the Color Channel arrow which should take you to your image, then scroll down, and click on the Arrow nest to "Color Balance" this will open the drop down menu, which allows you to edit your Images Color, transparency, Alpha offset, Color Grain... the works!

That should be what your looking for.

As for Quoting people just click on the "Quote" button on the bottom of their post, it will do the rest for you.

__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 02:35 AM   #4
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

dont know mate.., im watching a tut about 3D sets.. so i cant check., but im not dealing with 'objects' just sprites at this stage, so im not sure if it works the same.., the colour attributes window that opens with shaders.., with,

colour
transparency
incandesance

ect

in the AE.., no, it wont work from there.., i have tried, the sliders have no effect on sprites there.., i think there is a level of cotrol where you mean.., at colour balance, but i dont think thats what im loooking for.., ill have to watch it again.., seems the attribues have changed a lot over the last few versions of maya



__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 03:23 AM   #5
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

No, not under your sharers AE, but under your images AE.

Your image is your sprite and it will edit the image.... i've tried it myself.

Maybe were not on the same page or something.

Let me know when you figure it out, as i would like to know what method he's using.

Have fun!
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 03:58 AM   #6
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

that sounds right.., we're on the same page now

Ill let yu know

M
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.