SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Hardware - Please recommend for Rendering
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-01-2008, 12:52 AM   #1
khoma
Registered User
 
khoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hardware - Please recommend for Rendering

Question, I am looking at improving my PC's performance for Rendering in Maya (PLE.)


My PC's specifications are given below

Essentially it is 1,5 years old with an
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz with 4MB Cache

2 GB DDR2 533 MHz Ram (Corsair)

Gigabyte 7600 GT (GV-NX76T256D-RH)

What can i do to improve my rendering performance...

Option (A). Add 2 GB of Ram to make it 4GB RAM.
or
Option (B). Change graphic card... (Please recommend a decent card, that is not too expensive).




Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
GigaByte Board model: 965P-DS3 (Intel 965P)
BrandName:Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz
NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT
Corsair 2 GB VS 533MHZ DDR2 Ram

OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Professional

System Model GBTUACPI
System Type X86-based PC
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 6 GenuineIntel ~2399 Mhz
Total Physical Memory 2,048.00 MB
Available Physical Memory 1.21 GB
Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
Page File Space 3.85 GB
khoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2008, 01:54 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Rendering using either software or Mental ray generally taxes the processor more then anything, so unless your scene is using a lot of RAM or your going to be rendering with hardware then upping the RAM and/or changing the graphics card wont really do much. And if your using 32 bit OS then im pretty sure that a programme can only access 1.5 gig of RAM so upping it wont do that much.

Ive got that processor in my desktop PC and ive overclocked it to 3.2 gig with watercooling, and its running nice and stable, I can go higher (ive had it up to 3.8 gig but it became very unstable) so that might be a way forward.

Im not too sure but if you check the specs of the board it might be able to use a quad core, there pretty cheap now.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2008, 09:02 AM   #3
khoma
Registered User
 
khoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your help gster123

I will look at watercooling and overclocking!
khoma is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.