SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Your Work / Work In Progress / Jr.Who - W.I.P. - Pirate Ship
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-02-2008, 04:22 AM   #61
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Here's your close-up arran:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pirate_ship24.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	97.8 KB
ID:	38240  
  Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2008, 09:52 AM   #62
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

This is coming together rather nicely.

Though the sails aren't doing it for me, but the rest is good.

I'm looking forward to seeing this turns out.

Nice work!
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2008, 10:41 PM   #63
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mayaniac
This is coming together rather nicely.

Though the sails aren't doing it for me, but the rest is good.

I'm looking forward to seeing this turns out.

Nice work!
Thanks, Mayaniac!

What is it that's wrong with the sails for you? Could it be because they aren't smoothed?
  Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2008, 10:55 PM   #64
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

For me its smoothed and the color of the texture.


but i like the whole thing over all xD

:attn:
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2008, 12:37 AM   #65
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by starjsjswars
For me its smoothed and the color of the texture.
Oh? What's wrong with the color? I turned the blueness off.

I tried to put the bump maps on today, but something really weird is happening. At first I thought that I just completely forgot where the bump map goes on the material, but it turns out it's just some error. Here's what shows up in the SE after opening the material and letting it sit there for a while (don't ask me what's going on ):

Code:
// Error: 	tokenize $upstreamPlug "." $buffer;
 // 
// Error: "$buffer" is an undeclared variable. // 
// Error: 	string $bump2dNode = $buffer[0];
 // 
// Error: "$buffer" is an undeclared variable. // 
// Error: 	tokenize $upstreamPlug "." $buffer;
 // 
// Error: "$buffer" is an undeclared variable. // 
// Error: 	string $bump2dNode = $buffer[0];
 // 
// Error: "$buffer" is an undeclared variable. //
gster, do you know what this means?
  Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2008, 04:12 AM   #66
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

the color of the texture on the sails just look abit odd comparded to the rest of your ship, i think it should be abit tan (IMO)

but yea its up to u
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2008, 01:02 PM   #67
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I dont know what its relating to but the codes saying that it cant find the $buffer variable.

It could be something to do with the image type that your importing??
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2008, 07:30 PM   #68
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by starjsjswars
the color of the texture on the sails just look abit odd comparded to the rest of your ship, i think it should be abit tan (IMO)
Oh, thanks for pointing that out! I'll get onto in later today.

Quote:
Originally posted by gster123
I dont know what its relating to but the codes saying that it cant find the $buffer variable.

It could be something to do with the image type that your importing??
No, I mean there's nothing for me to put my bump on. Here's a pic:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bump.png
Views:	52
Size:	16.6 KB
ID:	38256  
  Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2008, 07:32 PM   #69
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Well thats bloody strange!

What material is it that your using? Do you have the bump on other materials?? New scenes etc??
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2008, 07:35 PM   #70
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gster123
Well thats bloody strange!

What material is it that your using? Do you have the bump on other materials?? New scenes etc??
You're telling me! I though my color-blindness was really getting to me!

It's just a blinn on a new scene that I opened up. I opened up another scene that I had some bumps on, and it shows the same thing, yet I can access the bump file and change the settings on it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2008, 08:33 PM   #71
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

that's really weird. does it show up on your other shaders? the close up looks nice by the way.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2008, 08:41 PM   #72
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

When theres strange things afoot with maya at uni the bes tthing to do is move the prefs folder out of the maya folder (in your docs) so ther eisnt one, then fire up maya again, it resets the prefs, and see if that works, if it does it means re-setting all your prefs but at least its working

If not you can just ciopy your prefs folder back over, and carry on scratching your head.

I've seen a similar thing but its a windows display setting so not much help on a mac
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2008, 09:26 PM   #73
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gster123
When theres strange things afoot with maya at uni the bes tthing to do is move the prefs folder out of the maya folder (in your docs) so ther eisnt one, then fire up maya again, it resets the prefs, and see if that works, if it does it means re-setting all your prefs but at least its working

If not you can just ciopy your prefs folder back over, and carry on scratching your head.

I've seen a similar thing but its a windows display setting so not much help on a mac
Steve, you're a life saver! Took me a while to find the prefs folder (for some reason they buried it in some foreign folder). Went through and moved around some files and it happened to be the last one I looked at (seriously, it was the last one I copied over), which was the pluginPrefs.mel file. I reloaded my plugins and found out that it was my Maxwell plugin.

This, scared the crap out of me. In my next project I wanted to mess around with Maxwell, and here it is screwing Maya up. So, I got an update to the plugin and the day is saved!

Thanks again! :attn:
  Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2008, 10:07 PM   #74
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

No probs

A lot of strange maya behaviour can be solved by doing that.

I once managed to do some MEL that buggered it up so much I couldent get maya to do anything, deleted the prefs and it was back as nw, its a bit of a paint re-setting your preferences but at least it's working.

Dunno why the folder was burried away, maybe its just where its placed on a MAC system.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2008, 10:19 PM   #75
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gster123
Dunno why the folder was burried away, maybe its just where its placed on a MAC system.
It was in the Library>Preferences>Autodesk>maya>2008 folder BTW.
  Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trapjaw (MOTU) W.I.P tweetytunes Work In Progress 7 13-11-2010 10:03 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.