SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-01-2008, 09:57 PM   #1
kazama
Registered User
 
kazama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ecuador
Posts: 270
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default heap size limit set to 800 MB

I'm having big troubles rendering some proyects.
Metal ray just stops rendering and goes flushing flushing and flushing!! Dont know what to do. It goes out of memory.
Things like :
MEM 0.2 info : allocation of 11828204 bytes failed: flushing
MEM 0.2 info : try '-memory 275' for future runs
Plz need help im having this problems for way to long now..
And right now im working in some own proyect, is like a futuristic city for a character and his motorcycle, but i cant even render the girl and the bike together.. so plz!
kazama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2008, 10:20 PM   #2
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Does this happen with all the stuff you try and render? for instance have you tried just rendering say a sphere or cube to see whether its the renderer that is screwing up rather than perhaps a corrupt file or such.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2008, 10:32 PM   #3
kazama
Registered User
 
kazama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ecuador
Posts: 270
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, sometimes for example, Im doing test renders of some scene or something and like the first 3 or 4 test it renders well, but then runs out of memory and I have to close the Maya, because is like it crash and I have to opened again.
It happends to me always, with diferent scenes.
At the moment, my motorcycle renders well, and also my character, but If i import one of the scenes to the other, I cant render, it goes flushing.
In the help of maya I found this:

Fine displacement critically depends on the specification of a cache size limit, because otherwise the fine tessellation results would not flow through the cache but accumulate until memory runs out. mental ray has a default cache limit of 512 MB.

A good choice is half the amount of physical RAM, or 500-800 MB on 32-bit machines, whichever is smaller. If the number is too large, the operating system may run out of virtual address space; if it is too small, mental ray will perform too many cache flush operations.

.. but It dosent say where I can increment the memory limit.
kazama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 05:34 PM   #4
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Are you using the batch render.
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 05:58 PM   #5
kazama
Registered User
 
kazama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ecuador
Posts: 270
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

When this issues start to happend, not even the batch render works.. Normaly i use the preview? that white control.. because im just changing textures or something.. and need to check how is looking and stuff like that. But I have try the batch when this starts to happend, and its the same. I even put preview mode on the render globals, or change the resolution to something really small, like 190 or something, and its the same.
kazama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 06:43 PM   #6
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Can't really think of a way of fixing this off the top of my head, if it keeps persisting you could always try un-installing and reinstalling Maya.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 06:46 PM   #7
kazama
Registered User
 
kazama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ecuador
Posts: 270
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, but if you find something, plz let me know, because this happends at home, and in the machine at work.
kazama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 06:49 PM   #8
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Couple of things that may help.

Have you tried using the clean up scene at all since this may help.

How many texture files are you using and what size are they. Anything over 2k can cause probs.
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 06:56 PM   #9
kazama
Registered User
 
kazama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ecuador
Posts: 270
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No i have not, but I have hear of that option and I know where it is, but one question:
If i use that option and i lose something important, if I dont save the scene, I dont lose anything right?
Is because I dont know if that option delete files from the database or someting like that.
kazama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 07:07 PM   #10
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

As long as you save it as a different file your original should be fine. You could save the original to a disk if you want to be certain though.
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008, 07:09 PM   #11
kazama
Registered User
 
kazama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ecuador
Posts: 270
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok thanks
kazama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2009, 06:14 AM   #12
xiaoyu0706
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Good job
xiaoyu0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 02:21 AM   #13
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

There are a lot of unanswered questions. Such as how much memory do you have on your machine, how many processors, what version of Maya, is your OS 64 bit? If you give us this information, it will be easier for us to determine the culprit.

Also, what size is your paging file?
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.