SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Render memory error
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-03-2008, 11:02 PM   #1
Tristanartform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Render memory error

Hello. I'm using maya 8.5 on a precision 690. 2GB RAM,
OS: Windows XP Pro.

OK, I have a high poly model I have made and I am unable to render the entire poly with a simple plane background and two lights. If I hide most elements and only try to render a fraction, there is no problem. However, as I start adding back in hidden elements the render stops midway and I receive the following message:

// Error: Free memory is low. Memory exception thrown

I have been very careful to delete history and remove atavististic nodes from the hypergraph editor. The model is very clean, though when it's viewed in the hardware screen with every element showing, the tumble is choppy, so I know it eats up a lot of memory. For the most part I keep the "hands" layer hidden to free up the hardware memory which allows the tumble to work in real time nice and smooth. The poly is in subdiv.

. Is the above error describing a limitation of my computer, or is this something I can correct somehow. I would obviously like to have a high quality render with raytrace shadows of my entire model. Isd there a solution I could try to investigate?

Thank you.

Tristan
Tristanartform is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2008, 11:42 PM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

how many polys is the scene, how many lights are you using, and how many other programs are running at the same time while you render?
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2008, 10:29 PM   #3
Tristanartform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well, I quit all other programs while I was rendering.

There are 15,991 polys in the scene, but far more subdiv elements of which I must confess I don't know how to locate a count of the faces.

I suppose I could go back and convert them all to polys, but it just seems to me there are just too much in my scene for my 2GB RAM

There are two lights: a spot and a point light.
Tristanartform is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.