SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Node won't show in Hypergraph!!!!!
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-03-2008, 10:16 AM   #1
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Node won't show in Hypergraph!!!!!

This SHOULD be a no-brainer, but I cannot seem to figure it out!

My problem is that I cannot get a "Multiply-divide" node to show up in the hypergraph!

I'm trying to create an IK/FK spine based on the "Jason Schlieffer Rigging Bundle" DVD. Perhaps some of you have worked with it and may be able to help.

For the record, I'm using Maya 7.5 (the DVD was based on Maya 4.o, maybe THAT'S the problem); I have construction history ON.

When I'm in the hypergraph and try to create a render node (the multiply divide node), it shows up in the hypershade and channel box but NOT in the hypergraph where I need it! Is there any reason why it isn't showing up?

I've searched far and wide for it in the great black void of hypergraph; I have tried every combination of "show", "expand". "show auxilliary nodes", &c. Did I miss something?

If ANYONE can shed some light on this I would be most appreciative! Thanks a TON in advance!
__________________
"Ad astra per aspera..."
Lt Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2008, 10:18 AM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

honestly i don't think it can show up in the hypergraph anyway.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2008, 10:32 AM   #3
Lt Jim
Subscriber
 
Lt Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks, Neo...but as it turns out it WILL show up.

Actually, I figured it out quite by accident (this is one of those "Ain't I a dumbass" moments!)...Apparently, it may have had something to do with how I clustered my spline curve.

I've always clustered CV's one at a time using the "Deform>Create Cluster" command in the animation module. This time, I tried clustering the curve using the "Edit Curves>Selection>Cluster Curve" command in the modeling module (FYI that command clusters the entire curve at once). When I tried adding the node after that, it worked...go figure!

So I guess the lesson to be learned is that there is some sort of difference between clustering via the deform menu in animation and the edit curves menu in modeling!

If anyone knows WHY this is so, do please add your two cents! Maybe someone else will be spared the frustration!! :-)
__________________
"Ad astra per aspera..."
Lt Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 08:24 PM   #4
Kratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 52
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Multiply/divide is one of those tricky nodes. I usually open my hypershade and hypergraph together, set my hypergraph to input/output connections and then drag a multiply/divide from the hypershade over, then make a connection (so I can find it again). I doubt this is the best method, but it works for me till I find something better
Kratch is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.