SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Light fog- all the way to the contact point
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2008, 07:41 PM   #1
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default Light fog- all the way to the contact point

Im experimenting with lights proparly for the first time and how do i get the light fog to extend right down to the contact point of the light
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 07:54 PM   #2
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Also im not getting any shadows, im clearly missing something
see image
thanx in advance
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	shadows.png
Views:	57
Size:	96.0 KB
ID:	38694  
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 09:16 PM   #3
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

well you need to turn on 'casts shadows' in the light's attributes.

and as for the fog, use show manipulator, then click the blue options circle (located by the light with a line coming out of it) until you see a bunch of cones coming out... those are the fog areas. can't remember the technical term for it, but they are the sections where the fog actually appears. you can lengthen and move them.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 03:18 PM   #4
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

I cant find either of those
im using 8.5 and its a spot light

EDIT: i got the fog sorted out but the cast shadows box doesnt seem to exist?!

Last edited by elephantinc : 04-04-2008 at 03:23 PM.
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 07:00 PM   #5
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

take a look in either the depth map or raytracing shadows section.... i'm only using version 7.0 but from what i can recall (don't have maya at work, going on memory), in the light's attributes those sections should exist, and each has a check box for using those kinds of shadows.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2008, 02:03 PM   #6
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Got them both sorted now
cheers neostrider
BTW is that a new avitar?
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2008, 02:20 PM   #7
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Right i have another problem
when i duplicate the light, the fog doesnt duplicate
ive made sure everythings selected
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 03:56 PM   #8
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

yea i kinda bounce from ichigo to ichigo...

as for the fog duplication problem... *shrug* are all the settings the same as well?
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 04:30 PM   #9
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

yep they are, except the fogs disappeared but the funny thing is that on the duplicate when i try to create new fog nothing appears
a well ill keep working on it
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 06:56 PM   #10
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

have you tried just creating a new light and then changing all the settings to match the other one and then creating the fog?

or how about creating a volume object?
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 01:41 PM   #11
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

yeah that works but i need about 10 and to be honest i cant be asked but i geuss i have no choice
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.