SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Border edges where arm attaches?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-05-2008, 12:38 PM   #1
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default Border edges where arm attaches?

Alright I've modeled this female character and I was going to give Roadkill uv editor a shot since I haven't used it yet but have had it for quite a while. I opened up the manual and started following instructions. First thing was to make sure Live Unwrap was ticked and then click unwrap, and right there is where my problem started. I get this in the maya window:

Quote:
RoadKill;
// Error: Mesh requires cleanup //
So I go to mesh and go to cleanup and then try again and get the same error. It shows the parts that need to be cleaned up are where the arm and body attached together. They highlighted the vertices and I highlighted the boarder in the picture below.

Anyone have any idea how to clean this up or fix this? I've been trying for about a half hour now and I can't figure out how to clean this up.



I must also say this edge has been bothering me since I connected it, no way to make it look like a smooth transaction between the arm and the body.

Thanks in advance to any possible help given.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2008, 01:30 PM   #2
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Hi,

try and select the verts and see if there are any double verts (one on top of another).

Failing that, it sounds as if the normals on the arm may be facing the other way from the body. Select polygons > display > face normals to check this. You can then either select normals > conform (with the object selected) to get them all facing in the same direction, or manually reverse them by selecting the faces and choosing normals > reverse.

If you still have an issue and none of the above works, sometimes just deleting the ring of faces, then appending new polygons to fill the gap will work.

good luck

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2008, 01:58 PM   #3
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

I fixed the normals and it seemed to work, it's no longer highlighting vertices but now when I do the live unwrap (or any other option) I'm getting this message

Quote:
// Warning: No items found to cleanup. //
hilite polySurface21 ;
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2008, 03:42 PM   #4
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Sorry never used roadkill so don't know what is going on there.

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2008, 03:46 PM   #5
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

well thanks for the help so far, one less step to figure out now.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2008, 04:11 PM   #6
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Just a thought - since it's referring to the cleanup operation in the message from roadkill - you could try deleting your object's history.

Seems odd it, maybe getting rid of it would help.

cheres

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2008, 05:18 PM   #7
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

I've already tried that and it didn't do anything... it seems there is a poly somewhere that's messed up. It's in a group of other polys so when I click on that one in the outliner it highlights all of them, if the poly is something that should be there to begin with then I could just delete it.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.