Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-06-2008, 10:47 PM   #1
chopkins54
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default poly count

Hi there.

I am currently building a character and as time has gone on I have noticed that when I zoom in and out in my modling windows it isn't as smooth as it once was.
I was wondering if this has anything to do with the poly count on my model, is it possible that I have too much geometry on the model, if so how do I go about reducing it.

I am also not to sure about Poly Count in general, how do I go about finding out the how many polies are on my model?

When I convert Polies to Sub d's does this increase the number of poligons, or is it just a tool to make geomtry look smoother?

If it is that the geomtry on my model is sucking up memory from my computer am I right in thinking this will also effect the models performance when texturing, rigging and animating him?


Thank you.
Chaz

Last edited by chopkins54 : 04-06-2008 at 07:23 AM.
chopkins54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 02:47 AM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,459
Thanks: 14
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Display>Heads Up Display> Poly Count

The numbers change depending on what is visible in the viewport so camera angles do contribute.

First column: the poly count of all ojects.
Second column: poly count of the currently selected objects.
Third colum: poly count for components you have selected.

Also a wireframe shot would've been better for this issue.

Theres a reduce operation in one of the poly menues so you can consider using that or maybe manually getting rid of some edge loops and whatnot. And if hes slowing things down now you're most likely going to have a bum time even scrubbing through your timeline.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 07:09 AM   #3
chopkins54
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Thanks for the help, I really appreciate it.

I have done a bit of a deconstruction on the model on what parts I can re-do with a low poly count, knowing what all them numbers meant on the heads up display helped loads, thanks.
And with a little tweeking I am able to work a lot better in my veiws with out loosing frames, things seem to be working ok again.

thanks again.

chaz
chopkins54 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.