SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Problem with rig...
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-10-2008, 02:40 PM   #1
0Dudeman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem with rig...

So this is my first rig, it is going pretty good but I have a problem when I try to move the knee (and ankle), what happens is the knee and leg just stretch out instead of acting like a joint.
heres a pic:

Last edited by 0Dudeman0 : 20-10-2008 at 02:42 PM.
0Dudeman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2008, 04:22 PM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Joints should only be rotated unless they are the root joint (the first join in a chain).
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2008, 04:34 PM   #3
0Dudeman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ah ok thanks , but I just came across another problem, when I rotate the arm joints part of the body gets kinda sucked out with it and I don't knoe why.
0Dudeman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2008, 04:44 PM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,501
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

Sounds like you need to paint some skin weights.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2008, 03:13 PM   #5
0Dudeman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

How would I go about doing that? Here is a pic to illustrate my problem:

Last edited by 0Dudeman0 : 28-10-2008 at 10:16 PM.
0Dudeman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2008, 07:28 PM   #6
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

yeah dude, looks like you softbinded your skin, which means you have weights to paint

select your mesh
in the animation menu set go
Skin > Edit Smooth Skin > Paint Skin Weights Tools > []

check out the maya tutorial help (Help > Maya Help > Learning Resources > Tutorials > Character Setup > Lesson 2 Smooth Skinning) for smooth skinning in action




heh, if this was XSI you could just grab the vertecies and click local reassign and then on the joint and you're problem would be solved
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2008, 11:13 AM   #7
0Dudeman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yay! it worked! now I got one more question, and I don't wanna make a new thread for it lol, I wanna model a arm (just as a practice exercise) and I am wondering if there is a way to ad vertex points also I would like to know if you can lock other vertex points so that when you move your selected ones the rest of the object is unaffected so I don't keep getting creases.. hope that makes sense :S....
0Dudeman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2008, 03:34 AM   #8
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

you want to model an unweighted arm?

add vertex: use split polygon tool (read up on it's capablities)

second query doesn't make much sense
maybe post a picture?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2008, 01:21 AM   #9
0Dudeman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok now i'm making a run cycle, but I can't raise the whole character without him going all weird, lol and a run cycle with no height is lame! xD

sorry for all my stupid questions, I hope they aren't getting too annoying :S
0Dudeman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.