Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-11-2008, 01:17 AM   #1
rudeboymcc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Why is this file so big?

Hi. I'm modelling a house in maya. suddenly i notce that my file size went from about 300 KB to 4.3Mb.

I've narrowed it down to a swirl shape i made.

The shape was made by making one single revolution and then simply duplicating it many times. then i selected all the revolutions, combined them. and smoothed them.

Now these two swirls are taking up 4.2mb by themselves. and i have to duplicate them 3 more times so there'll be 8 swirls in total.

is there anything i can do to reduce the size of them without making a simpler version?
Attached Thumbnails
 
rudeboymcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 01:19 AM   #2
rudeboymcc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

closup pic of polygon
Attached Thumbnails
 
rudeboymcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 03:01 AM   #3
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

To be fair, 4.3 mb is hardly a horrific file size, and as long as your only doing a few more i don't really see the problem.

If your that worried bout them, then delete some of the edge loops makin up the shape and se how much you can get away with before they start changing shape.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 03:31 AM   #4
rudeboymcc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thing is i never created most of those edges. i had a very angular one, adn then duplicated it and they didn't match up perfect with eachother. but then i hit Smooth and they looked good enough.

so will it slow it down a lot?
rudeboymcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 11:46 AM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally posted by rudeboymcc
thing is i never created most of those edges
you mean someone else came along and did it for you?
things don't appear unless you tell it to appear :p

it may or may not slow down your computer, the objects are way too dense for something so small and thin.

also, when you post a wireframe you should turn it to shaded mode (hit 5) and then click "wireframe on shaded" (somewhere in the view panel's menu)
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.