SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / format time :( what OS?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2008, 02:13 PM   #1
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default format time :( what OS?

well, it's that time of year for my computer, time to format, i've been putting it off for far too long and now she's in shambles

but i'm stuck right now wondering what OS to use, it's either gonna stay as an XP box, or i'm gonna have a shot a linux, so i'm just wondering, what are the ups and downs of linux? i know XP in and out, i am the XP pro :p

i realize there's tons of different versions of linux too, so i'm lookin them all up right now, because this is the main thing stopping me from using linux


but yea, anyone have past experience with linux? think it's better than XP? worse? discuss people... ^_^

EDIT: Ubuntu looks cool... what about that?

EDIT 2: just startin d/ling that knoppix thing that apperently shows how linux will be, so we'll see how that goes :p
__________________

Last edited by Acid44 : 08-12-2008 at 02:36 PM.
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 02:40 PM   #2
louis56
Registered User
 
louis56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 344
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ubuntu FTW
__________________
Visit www.Notice-Board.co.nz for FREE online classifieds, notices and ads in your area!!
louis56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 02:41 PM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Can you not run it under VM ware to see how it suits you prior to going over completly, for driver compatability etc etc?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 02:46 PM   #4
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

see, i dont know anything about these things so, what's VM ware? :p

Quote:
Originally posted by louis56
Ubuntu FTW
lmao, any particular reason?
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 02:56 PM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Its a bit of software that allows you to run multiple OS systems on one PC, say I could have XP installed, then run Vista (or linux) on a "Vritual Machine" using VM ware, the simulated machine will be slightly slower but the advantage is you can test it out without having to actually install the OS on a hardware computer, like dual booting the OS.

If that makes sense.

So in your case you could run linux, see if you like it, if you dont just delete the virtual machine, or if you do, get all the stuff you know your need, via running the virtual machine and then swap over properly. (or dual boot)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 03:14 PM   #6
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

OH yea, that made sense, i guess i'll look into that then thanks

but keep givin me input people
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 11:15 PM   #7
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

ok, so im on that knoppix thing right now, which is a CD booting version of linux, and so far it's pretty cool, i'm considering linux, but i have a few questions about it...

how does it handle windows apps?

would i still be able to run all my games?

and since im feeling too lazy to look it up, what are the modding capabilities in linux, as oppose to me being able to change EVERYTHING in windows... and i mean everything...
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 11:19 PM   #8
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Unless you're a programmer, a super nerd, a server, or completely disconnected from society, I don't really see the need to have Linux. :p
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 11:27 PM   #9
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

haha, i'm totally disconnected from society :p

why is my text going red on the konqueror browser? im scared


anyways... one thing im loving about this is the multiple desktops thing, it's really cool, keeps it clean, which i love :blush:
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 11:48 PM   #10
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I've got multiple desktops on my laptop, its just a download if you really want it, mine came with the GFX drivers, and gesture control. You'll get sick of it soon, I did.

I dont think you can run windows apps on it, or games, unless its via something like parallels, but like bootcamp with mac, why have a dog and bark yourself?

If your going to use it use it for propriatory stuff, that way you'll get the advantages of it with low overheads etc.

Remember that any new equipment may or may not work depending on drivers. And you'll be restricting yourself in that, as well as any other things you need to attach (as long as theres drivers remember to check first though)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 11:57 PM   #11
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gster123
I dont think you can run windows apps on it, or games
that line right there just killed linux for me...

so what about ubuntu? i just ordered an ubuntu CD :p

can that run games and windows apps?
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 01:11 AM   #12
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by acid44
that line right there just killed linux for me...

so what about ubuntu? i just ordered an ubuntu CD :p

can that run games and windows apps?
Dont think so. Theres probably some sort of strange version that will run windows stuff natively but it probalby would have lots of problems.

Linux's main power is real time hardware situations (machine/plant controlers)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 02:28 AM   #13
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

a ten second long uttering of the word damn just came from my mouth

i guess i'm gonna hold on with windows until i get a new computer sometime soon then...

for the help ^_^
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 04:12 PM   #14
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

well there was back in the day when maya would only run on unix computers (so we just had a lab full of SGI workstations)... i don't think windows could run it til 3.0 - can't remember what version, just knew we had 2.0 in the labs and the upgrade to 2.5 was bitchin'...
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 05:02 PM   #15
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

well i remember you once saying that you were a gamer then vista would be great for you directX10 baby(nway most games will be completely utilising that soon) so long as you have lots of ram you should be ok
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.