SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Your Work / Work In Progress / Elephanilla
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-12-2008, 11:14 AM   #16
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

yea, the body looks to be about twice the length of the refs body, the ear looks fine to me though, i kinda like it that wayy :p
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2008, 11:32 AM   #17
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

I know what you mean about the body compared to the ref but in the game the elephanilla does seem to have a longer body (it would help if i had got that far in the game....)
thanks for the crits though
wether its accurate or not ill still make the body shorter, i think it will look better then
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2008, 11:57 AM   #18
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

My guess is that you have something with elephants.....LOL

Keep in mind although you are modeling a cartoony character, where the muscle groups are.
And for the hair use a displacement/normal -map, if it needs to be lowpoly or gamelike, use ZBrush or Mudbox to paint the displacement/hairs and colors.

good luck
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2008, 11:59 AM   #19
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

(i dont think he has a sculpting tool)

hey elephantinc, are you trying to copy the elephanilla exactly or just the funky effect on it?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2008, 03:43 PM   #20
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

do what laurie said, it makes the most sense. I was going to suggest the sampler info approach but would have had to work out exactly how to do it with the layer node... I'm still learning.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2008, 09:15 PM   #21
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Im trying to copy it mostly but it will be slightly different just so people can tell i havent stolen it
I will try Lauries approach but i dont know how, i now own a book on rendering though which might help
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2008, 04:54 PM   #22
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

update: Id like to see what this looks like textured but I dont have a clue what im doing.....
Besides the obvious creasing any comments? Do you think ive made the body short enough? (i dont think i want an except replica, just the generally feel)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	picture 2.png
Views:	85
Size:	106.3 KB
ID:	41118  
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2008, 04:55 PM   #23
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

2nd pic
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	picture 3.png
Views:	85
Size:	84.7 KB
ID:	41119  
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2008, 09:28 PM   #24
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

How do i put the transparency map onto a layer node? I cant even work out how to create a transparency map node
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2008, 06:36 AM   #25
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Just attach a file node to the transparancy slot in the material
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2008, 01:39 PM   #26
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Heres what ive ended up with:
I think its fair to say i have no idea what im doing, I cant even figure out how to change the layered shader blending.....
Attached Files
File Type: mb elephanillamess.mb (225.3 KB, 15 views)
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2008, 06:28 PM   #27
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

EDIT: Problem solved! You dont have to read this post now, unless you really want to.

Quote:
Originally posted by LauriePriest
make a patchy trans map, squars of white squares and black, put it on a layer node then ontop of it in the layer node attatch a ramp with, set the blending method to multiply on the layer node.

Make a sampler info node and attatch the facing ratio attribute to the v coord of the ramp. Edit the ramp so that it is transparent at the edges and solid in the centre. This should give the correct effect if im not mistaken, you want no interpolation between the gradient values.
Now i feel really stupid. that first paragraph was a lot easier to do than i made it, but how do i change the blending mode, i cant find anything for it? I checked the help files (no really, i did) and it says there should be a thing for it in the attribute editor but i cant find anything


UPDATE: ah! theres a difference between layered shader and layered texture node, sorry!)

UPDATE 2: when trying to connect the checker node to the layered texture theres no transparency in the inputs, what should i do?

Update 3: I think ive got it, instead of doing it in the hypershade i put the checker in the alpha box of the layered shader, is that right?

UPDATE 4: Im really sorry but I cant find the v cord thing on the ramp, when i go to the connections box thing (when ive middle mouse dragged the sampler info node onto the ramp node and selected other) on the sampler info node the facing ratio attribute is there but on the ramp side there is no v cord attribute (theres no uv cord attribute at all)

Update 5: I DID IT! I was using a ramp shader instead of a ramp <smack head>
sorry! (i think ive finally done it though, all my problems have been because i was using X shader nodes instead of just X nodes)

Last edited by elephantinc : 30-12-2008 at 06:52 PM.
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2008, 07:01 PM   #28
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Im really sorry but this is what ive ended up with, and as you can tell it hasnt worked.
please can someone take a look at it? :beg:
It might be the transparency on the ramp (or lack of), im not sure what to do with the ramp
Attached Files
File Type: mb elephanillamess.mb (226.9 KB, 15 views)
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2008, 07:02 PM   #29
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Here is a pic of the graph network.
does it look right?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	picture 1.png
Views:	54
Size:	10.2 KB
ID:	41135  
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2008, 01:20 PM   #30
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

hmm - sorry i cant help with this - i can't open your file. my wife is playing viva pinata 2 and i've been wondering how they create that effect. your base model looks cool though.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.