SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Your Work / Work In Progress / test render with maxwellrender
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-12-2008, 12:12 PM   #1
lealar
Registered User
 
lealar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default test render with maxwellrender

Hello all, new around tests of interior's lights with maxwellrender and still some questions still problems with the maxwellrender.

800*600(SL of 15.71. Benchmark of 105.136. Time: 1h28m40s)
Sorry bad English.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	t_temp.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	160.4 KB
ID:	41117  
lealar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2008, 05:24 PM   #2
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Pretty sweet lighting dude.

Can't help you on Maxwell Renderer though. Haven't used it.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2008, 09:01 PM   #3
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nice render Lealar, just a little noisy... maybe I could help you out with answering some questions?
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2008, 12:00 AM   #4
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

nice job lealar.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2008, 02:11 AM   #5
lealar
Registered User
 
lealar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks guys. On maxwellrender maybe can use for outdoor(building ...) or scene(product ...), but interior will be take alot troubles.

indoor
1. Render time take too long(calculate shadow). Must add some hide emitters to make the scene brighter and short render time.
2. Some wondering happen!?(please see attach file)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	123.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	165.2 KB
ID:	41129  

Last edited by lealar : 29-12-2008 at 02:36 AM.
lealar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2008, 02:19 AM   #6
lealar
Registered User
 
lealar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

3. Emitter model type!?(here is a model test)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled-1.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	72.2 KB
ID:	41130  
lealar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2008, 02:34 AM   #7
lealar
Registered User
 
lealar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

1. plane as a emitter get better result and render faster.
2. bulb as a emitter not well and very slow and much more burn.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled-2.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	35.7 KB
ID:	41131  

Last edited by lealar : 29-12-2008 at 02:55 AM.
lealar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2008, 03:42 PM   #8
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, indoors take a whole lot longer to render. If you want realistic lighting there isn't much to do about it. You can however remove the roof, it will speed it up a lot, but obviously doesn't give the correct lighting for an indoor scene.

It's best to use simple emitters - low polygon planes - unless you can see the emitter clearly in the render. For example there's no use of using spheres for emitters on tiny lightbulbs that are far away.

The black dots are clearly a bug, they happend to me sometimes on a chrome material I used, but I think that disappeared in version 1.5. What version are you using?
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2008, 01:12 AM   #9
lealar
Registered User
 
lealar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just use Maxwellrender 1.7 and here new test one open the phsical sky removed the glass handrail and disappear of black dots.

I think maybe the glass handrail reflectance make black dots.(i don't know)

This image taked about 4hr.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	newonetemp.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	211.8 KB
ID:	41139  

Last edited by lealar : 31-12-2008 at 01:15 AM.
lealar is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM
New Feature: Post videos David Members Lounge 8 09-12-2010 06:54 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.