SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Dark patches on surface
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-02-2009, 02:41 PM   #1
bobsquish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Dark patches on surface

Hey, im having some trouble with dark patches appearing on the surface of my models when rendered.

I think it may be the geometry especially in the corners, if you can help at all please do.

Here are some images:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	13.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	59.3 KB
ID:	41378  
bobsquish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 02:42 PM   #2
bobsquish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Corner detail
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	12.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	39.2 KB
ID:	41379  
bobsquish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 02:43 PM   #3
bobsquish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

And the render with smooth edges
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	15.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	52.3 KB
ID:	41380  
bobsquish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 02:44 PM   #4
bobsquish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

And with some edges hardened
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	14.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	57.8 KB
ID:	41381  
bobsquish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 03:12 PM   #5
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

perhaps it is because your geometry is a little messy. you should stick to 4 sided polygons. and if you have edges close together they will create a harder edge or pinch in your case.

...is it a macbook?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 03:22 PM   #6
bobsquish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok thanks, any ideas on how to fix it? should i change the triangles into polygons?

And yes it is the new macbook pro.
bobsquish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 09:28 PM   #7
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

i don't think you necessarily need to make your polygons 4 sided if you're modeling a hard object. it may be that your normals are messed up - but i'm not sure why that's not showing in your view port. i'd definitely try to clean up the geometry a bit though at the corner - try to get rid of that sharp corner.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.