SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / interior lighting
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-02-2009, 06:37 PM   #1
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default interior lighting

hi having a problem im getting weird light spots on my renders anyone knows how tto prevent this(bright spot at the corner of the bathtab) its really frustrating me and I've tried balancing my gi accuracy to the total number of photons
also under fg my point density is 1 and filter size is 1 so could someone pls tell me what im doing wrong
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	problem1.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	183.7 KB
ID:	41444  
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2009, 07:28 PM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,494
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

Does that wall have any thickness? That's often one of the problems.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2009, 02:53 AM   #3
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

actually nope its just a polyplane should all my wall have thickness? most tutorials that i have seen the walls are just simple planes...
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2009, 02:57 AM   #4
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

i think GecT is right, give it a shot.

....btw, interestingly stiff towel
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2009, 04:53 AM   #5
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

lol its maya ncloth didnt feel like letting the whole simulation play. but will fix it in the final render
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2009, 08:42 AM   #6
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

ok did that rebuilt the whole wall and it fixed the problem then it caused another problem....my reflective surfaces started reflective the color of my camera environment whats up with that
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2009, 12:55 PM   #7
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,494
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

I think that's supposed to happen or maybe I'm not understanding the issue, post a screenie please.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 07:42 AM   #8
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

heres the screen grab
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	interior lighting.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	193.6 KB
ID:	41478  
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 03:43 PM   #9
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,494
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

Yep that seems normal to me. They're going reflect the environment which in this case includes a blue backdrop. I'm guessing there are 3 walls and no ceiling. Is there a particular reason why you changed it from the default black?
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 05:57 PM   #10
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

theres a ceiling and it was black till i added thickness to the walls then it started reflecting black i just changed the color to show you what was happening this thing really has me looking like like i have question marks on my head....
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 07:38 PM   #11
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,494
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

Email the scene to me if you can.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 06:56 AM   #12
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Long shot but is it not to do with the number of bounces you've got with raytracing for any area lights you may have, I think that if they are set to 1 it bounces then only gets the background colour as it dosent know what it is from the bounce.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 08:42 AM   #13
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

so your suggestion would be to increase the value or.......cause i think my values are 4-4-8 under the ray trace settings
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 10:12 AM   #14
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

hey genny should i also email you the textures and the rest of the materials cause when i was rendering with just one default color(lambert color set to white) it never had problems they came on as soon as i slapped on the textures and material
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 05:00 PM   #15
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,494
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

Yeah, send me the project folder.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.