SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Competitions / Previous Challenges (Archives) / Dango77 Virtual Cityscape :Patchwork House
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 14-03-2009, 06:31 PM   #106
Pandinus
Registered User
 
Pandinus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You're new to 3D modelling and Maya? That is some amazing work. To be able to learn how to texture, render and model in just a month or so is astounding. Well done sir *claps.*
Pandinus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2009, 10:27 PM   #107
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hammer.horror
btw i think i have a worse computer than all of you! ...just a macbook
its a mac, 'nuff said, yo :p

Dango, if you're having problems with mental ray crashing like that perhaps you could consider using the command line to render
http://www.3dtotal.com/team/Tutorial.../command01.asp

or maybe render in layers and comp it together in photoshop

whats your operating system?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2009, 10:47 PM   #108
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

My Computers better than all of yours.

hahaha!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2009, 10:59 PM   #109
bigtommyb
Subscriber
 
bigtommyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 197
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

if you say so...
bigtommyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2009, 12:57 AM   #110
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Good reply gster123, I like it! Lol!

Chirone: I'll have a look at that tutorial on monday,thanks for the link, I only just read about the command line render earlier and it would be good to know more, I run Windows Xp, my girlfriend has Vista and it's all very nice looking but not really for me. I thought about doing the photoshop comp, but I'd kinda said to myself at the start of this challenge that I'd only use it to do textures, that way it pushes me to learn more about Maya, I do like making things hard for myself!...

Pandinus: Welcome to the site, I've only been a member for just over a week so I'm getting a feel for the place the same as you! Thanks for your comments, I've actually had Maya since November, but hadn't even heard of it before then, afriend showed me google sketchup last summer and after a go on it I did some research and learnt a lot, now I'll never look back, Maya rocks! Good luck to you in the challenge mate!
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2009, 02:50 AM   #111
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Have done a render with the light angle on the front of the building, and I'm liking the shadows angle more I think, just need to play about with the intensity etc. And still need to sort out the sky! think I'll give the env. shader a try...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	gdesign10.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	243.7 KB
ID:	41593  
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2009, 09:36 PM   #112
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,431
Thanks: 63
Thanked 161 Times in 154 Posts
Default

Is the plants paint effects - if not asgin some different color shaders to parts of it to break them up a little - the trees in the back could really do with that

Quote:
Originally posted by Chirone

if you're having problems with mental ray crashing like that perhaps you could consider using the command line to render
http://www.3dtotal.com/team/Tutorial.../command01.asp
Dude - Most useful link ever - thank you - I can now render my city again (Maya took 1.4 gigs of memory just to open it)
__________________

Last edited by tweetytunes : 15-03-2009 at 09:38 PM.
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2009, 10:42 PM   #113
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Tweetytunes: You are right about needing to break up the plants with a bit of color, they are paint effects plants, but as mentalray won't render them I've had to convert them to polys and then duplicate into instances, which is a pain, but I'm going to see wether I can add a bit of color to them as they are with some other shaders, not sure if it'll work but here's hoping!

Just checked out that cmd line render tutorial, learnt how to use the command line render really easily, Tweetytunes is right, such a good link, everyone should check that one out, thanks so much Chirone!

Last edited by Dango77 : 16-03-2009 at 12:20 AM.
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2009, 07:55 AM   #114
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

You could also simply right click the maya file and go to render.

I only use .bat's when I want to render multiple files one after the other or I want to force something.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2009, 01:24 PM   #115
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,431
Thanks: 63
Thanked 161 Times in 154 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gster123
You could also simply right click the maya file and go to render.

I only use .bat's when I want to render multiple files one after the other or I want to force something.
Every time I have tried that in the past it does software render only - something I stopped using 6 years ago as they suck
__________________
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2009, 01:42 PM   #116
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Yeah, I tried that too but got the same result, command line seems like the way to go! Let it get on with it, and if you only select it to use one processor you can open up maya and continue on your model with hardly any jittering and spluttering about, takes a bit longer but so worth it!
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2009, 02:11 PM   #117
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

You do know you can add to it to use whatever you need from the render flags or create more right clicks so you could have software, MR, hardware etc etc?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2009, 02:23 PM   #118
Dango77
Registered User
 
Dango77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Sounds good gster123,how exactly do you create more right clicks?
Dango77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2009, 02:59 PM   #119
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,431
Thanks: 63
Thanked 161 Times in 154 Posts
Default

hahahaha I wish - my city takes too much memory to open - let alone work with while rendering - nice thought though


yer that would be good to know aswell
__________________
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2009, 05:24 PM   #120
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Open my documents, tools->folder options, selces file types go to the MA files, select it.

In the details for MA file type click advanced, you should see "render" there in the list that says open and edit, click it and go to edit (DONT SAVE CHANGES THIS ONE AS IT BUGGERS THE STANDARD RENDERING UP)

Copy the path to the application (including the "%1" part right at the end).

cancel back to the the other screen that has open, edit and render on. Click new, give it a name for what you want it to do say "Render with Mental Ray or something".

In the "application to perform action" paste the normal render path in there and go to the end after ..........\render.exe" add whatever you need with render flags, in the case of getting MR going have

...........\render.exe" -r mr "%1"

You can have whatever you need afte rthe -r just the same as cmd line rendering.

Make sure you keep the "%1" as this tells windows to assign the path to the file selected save it all and rtepeat for .MB file type.

Now when you have your maya file right click and you should have your modded render with option, click it and off it goes with Mental Ray and the settings in the file - something I've been doing for a few years now as its great, and no need to create notepad files etc, leave them for multiple scene renderings.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.