SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / issue with Mac, Maya, and Middle Mouse click
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-04-2009, 06:35 AM   #1
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default issue with Mac, Maya, and Middle Mouse click

at work i was put infront of a mac with maya and told to do stuff as a break from typing and researching code (and i like it when things work... so maya compared to coding is tranquility)

and when testing out the controls of mac maya i found the most disturbing thing ever...

the middle mouse button doesn't work the way it should... whenever i click it the scene begins to dolly in discrete steps, regardless of what key i hold down on the keyboard

this means i can't track, adjust values, or assign materials using the middle mouse button
i suppose adjusting values in the channel box or assigning materials is still fast (ish) to do the other ways, but the lack of tracking is quite difficult to deal without
(i made a keyboard short cut to bring up the tool, but it's still rather annoying to have to change tools when you just need to use one)

i assume this isn't normal and there might be an issue somewhere that is resolvable?


also (this is just a ramble, not a complaint or anything...) i've totally forgotten what hotkeys i've set myself! :p
i would start pushing certain key combinations only to find that the command isn't even assigned to that hotkey
the only combinations i remember setting is ctrl+1 to do a render preview, and ctrl+alt+h to bring up the hypergraph
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2009, 10:20 AM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

i don't have any of those problems.

Where do you work btw?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2009, 10:50 AM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

maybe it's just something wrong with the mac? it is a pretty old one. it doesn't render properly and there are a few UI issues, i think it might have something to do with the graphics card



hammer: i work for Kiwa International, they do post production ADR stuff.
i work on the software that produces their products (currently going to start work on the next version of their flagship product voiceQ)
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2009, 04:19 PM   #4
halfloaf
Subscriber
 
halfloaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 180
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Chirone,

Open up the preferences and scroll down to the bottom of the "interface" menu to "Devices". You'll find your mouse settings there.

-Halfloaf
halfloaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2009, 09:34 PM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

thanks halfloaf, i'll try that the next time i get put in front of that computer
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.