SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / Use a ps3 to render?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-08-2009, 02:51 PM   #1
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default Use a ps3 to render?

Ive been saving for an iphone but I recently realized that for the same price I could buy a decent touch screen phone and a 80gb ps3 but has anyone managed to use a ps3 to render? I know it runs linux and cant run maya because of the type of processor but I heard there is a batch renderer for linux that will work on the ps3, has anyone tried it?
Thanks
Elephantinc
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2009, 05:11 PM   #2
curtis08
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it is certainly possible, iv never tried it myself but i do have a ps3, and it made me wounder.

Problem is that i dont think maya runs on linux, so you will need some kind of stand alone renderer like mental ray and download that onto your linux running ps3.

Aparntly this guy tried it http://uk.gamespot.com/pages/forums/...ic_id=25786749

seems to give quite good performace, i might try it when i make a longer render heavy scene, but not any time soon i dont think
curtis08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2009, 06:08 PM   #3
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by curtis08


Aparntly this guy tried it http://uk.gamespot.com/pages/forums/...ic_id=25786749
thats where I got the idea from, I might get a mate to try it

Im not entirely sure thats true though because everyone else in the world doesn't seemed to have managed it

Last edited by elephantinc : 15-08-2009 at 07:18 PM.
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2009, 11:17 AM   #4
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by curtis08

Problem is that i dont think maya runs on linux,
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2009, 01:20 PM   #5
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Can't you use programs like Wine or Rathat to run windows programs on linux?
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2009, 03:58 PM   #6
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

why would anyone want to do that doesnt it have like 512mb ram and im sure once the os is insalled you will end up loosing a chunk of it
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2009, 06:38 PM   #7
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Yeah, I heard about running a PS3 render farm, but it sounds like the hardware of a PS3 isn't really optimized for rendering... and I'm pretty sure maya can run on linux.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2009, 10:30 PM   #8
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Maya does work on linux. Many of the big studios use linux as their operating system.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.