SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Best Setup For The Latest Version Of Maya??
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-08-2009, 11:44 PM   #1
FANTAH_PANTS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Best Setup For The Latest Version Of Maya??

Hello all!

This is my first post on this forum so be nice! lol

I'm about to finish University and want my own 3D animation rig to play with Maya.

Whats the BEST system i can make to render and run Maya quick yet stable?

I'm actually trying more to lean towards game design in the future so a high graphics machine would be ideal.

Aswell as being able to run multiple monitors.

P.S im not afraid to go mac if its the better option.

Thanking you all in advance!

Cheers! FP
FANTAH_PANTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2009, 11:54 PM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I'm setting up a system myself at the moment. The first question would be, what's your budget?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2009, 02:08 AM   #3
FANTAH_PANTS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

About $3000 i think.. Monitor might be extra on top of that. dont mind.
FANTAH_PANTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2009, 09:35 AM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

You cant get a 64 bit version of Maya on the mac, there overpriced and lacking in available options so I personally wouldn't bother.

All depends opn if your willing to build it yourself or you want a pre bought one.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2009, 08:02 PM   #5
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

I would aim for something like this;
64 bit windows/linux or macosx
good processor 2,5 ghz at the very least and i would recommend dual quad core for rendering
8 gb RAM
1 program disk
and a raid disk (raid 5 if possible)
and a NVidia card Quadro preferably
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2009, 11:41 PM   #6
FANTAH_PANTS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So.. which is better for maya?

Mac or PC?

Because i heard macs render faster... but PC's can hold more graphical power and larger graphics cards...

(I was pretty excited about the thought of a Mac though, since all i've ever used is PC)

And if its a PC im willing to go and get all the pieces and make one hell of a machine.

If anyone could suggest a list of optimal specifications with all the parts names i need to buy that would be way awesome.

I just want the best optimal setup so Maya doesnt crash or run slow.

Thanks for all the responses so far! I've added them all to my list of "Stuff to get" lol
FANTAH_PANTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2009, 12:05 AM   #7
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

If you're thinking about a mac pro, you're probably going to be spending a lot more than 3000 (not including the monitor), especially if you get a quadro... that's one reason why I decided not to get a mac pro... overpriced, though they do have a certain appeal.

Also, there's no single optimal setup for Maya, that I know of, lots of different configurations will work great.

Couple ideas to start looking, you could look at a core i7 setup, with DDR3 RAM, 6 GB or 12 GB. Then you'll need an X58 motherboard, I've heard ASUS and Gigabyte are good, but people's experiences and opinions differ.
Apparently CPU speed and RAM are important for rendering, and having multi cores helps too. i7s like the 920 have 8 virtual cores (4 physical cores), which seems to be good for the price.

Make sure you check reviews on the components you're looking at...

Hope that helps a bit.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2009, 12:54 PM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Macs aint any better than a PC, in fact a PC/linux box would out perform a a mac pro, price wise etc for rendering.

But for the money I would go with an i7, with 12 gig and large storage accross multiple drives (with a SS for boot up) and a quadro card.

I looked at getting a mac a while ago and I wouldent bother unless you need to use a mac specific programme.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2009, 09:16 AM   #9
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,486
Thanks: 15
Thanked 641 Times in 564 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gster123
Macs aint any better than a PC....

Whachutalkinbout Steve? Yes they are! You haven't computed until you do it via bubbly blue buttons and bouncing application icons. Haha, I couldn't help it I swear :blush:
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2009, 02:55 AM   #10
Ataraxy
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 258
Thanks: 2
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

I would have to say..

If your just modeling:

A quad core with 4gb of RAM, with a good VC.. such as a quadro.. <-- read into them and figure out which one u want. like.. are you a professional.. intermediate.. etc.. that deteremines ur card and price.. only u know the answer..

some folks are all uptight on hard drives.. a few miliseconds to me here and there are not that big of a deal.. But if your up to it.. set up some SAS drives in RAID 0 .

for storage get a flash drive.. simpler.. easier.. and no need for redundancy..

for rendering

the biggest fastest core you can afford a minimal of 6 gbs of ram, same with the VC.. same with HDD's
Ataraxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 10:26 AM   #11
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Some video card info from autodesk

http://download.autodesk.com/us/qual...aphics_lin.pdf
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.