SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Competitions / Previous Challenges (Archives) / Simply Avatar: Tweetytunes
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2010, 11:49 AM   #1
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,454
Thanks: 63
Thanked 162 Times in 155 Posts
Default Simply Avatar: Tweetytunes

OK Im in - but after I reinstall windows as its buggy as hell right now. (Some point 2day)

Im sorry after seeing this film 4 times I have to take part.
__________________
tweetytunes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 12:58 PM   #2
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Good boy!!
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 11:33 AM   #3
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,454
Thanks: 63
Thanked 162 Times in 155 Posts
Default

Right got everything installed and running win7 now and impressed with the score I got with this old rig (5.9 on a old graphic card - a real shock).

Anyway going to do my GF Charlotte - got quite abit of work to make the male head look like her.

http://www.ravage3d.com/images/Avatar/Char_Ref.jpg
__________________
tweetytunes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 12:11 PM   #4
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,454
Thanks: 63
Thanked 162 Times in 155 Posts
Default

OK what the hell - set up the image plain and now for no reason I cant change the alpha gain making the image plain useless what the hell is going on.

Edit - before any says just use plains - I hae tired and cant work that way - it s poop. You have to have the texture showing which means the head is visable and if you turn on xray mode the plain also goes into xray mode.

Google is also no help on the matter

Errr I just want my image plains working again - how do you sort this out - why would the alpha gain stop working
__________________

Last edited by tweetytunes : 09-01-2010 at 12:55 PM.
tweetytunes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 02:16 PM   #5
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Hi there
You could add a shader and turn the transparancey up......dave
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 04:31 PM   #6
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

They look quite hi res mate, maybe down res an then try again, sometimes res has an adverse affect on the image planes

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 06:12 PM   #7
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,454
Thanks: 63
Thanked 162 Times in 155 Posts
Default

I have tried many differant res and file types and none are working. I think its a driver issue for window 7 but there does not seem to be any fixs for my card on the net yet.

Its a shame as Maya (apart from this little problem) and some games have all performed better than normal as windows seems to be using some hard drive space to boost the GC.

Anyway here is a little update

Started by making the head look like my GF then started to add the avatar details - might restart the ear as this is still the ear that came with it.

http://www.ravage3d.com/images/Avatar/1_1.jpg

http://www.ravage3d.com/images/Avatar/1_2.jpg
__________________

Last edited by tweetytunes : 09-01-2010 at 06:33 PM.
tweetytunes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 02:04 AM   #8
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,139
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Very impressive work tweetytunes, and really fast progress!
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2010, 02:11 AM   #9
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,454
Thanks: 63
Thanked 162 Times in 155 Posts
Default

Well sick of the blue already so switched that back to grey. Right got alot done but when its all togeather it does not look like much so I spread them out

1. Head - slightly reworked - keep the ears for now
2. Ear hoops have been made and the ear tweaked to fit them
3. Teeth and tounge - with fangs
4. Neckless - at the moment its the shape of the neck - will change that at later date
5. Started the braided hair. _ I have 4 different types of braid but was not going to capture them all - you get the idea.

http://www.ravage3d.com/images/Avatar/1_3.jpg

At the stage where I am starting the hair placements - I am thinking this might take awhile. Going for the braided hair for a number of reasons - 1st up untill about 4 months ago my girlfriend had braided hair - 2 It will look cooler with hair than not - 3 Its easyer than real hair (Although I have just reinstalled Shave and hair cut.

Can anyone remeamber what the comms deviceices looked like or has any one seen a ref pic of them as I cant for the life of me rember what they looked like but know they had them.
__________________
tweetytunes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2010, 01:04 PM   #10
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Not sure if this is what you need.......dave
http://www.flickr.com/photos/officia...82718/sizes/o/
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2010, 01:13 PM   #11
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,454
Thanks: 63
Thanked 162 Times in 155 Posts
Default

thanks - I thought it was in the ear but around the neck makes more sence. cheers
__________________
tweetytunes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2010, 02:38 PM   #12
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

i think the pinching around the cheeks looks really odd.

do you have a pic without the wireframe?

...also this one looks like a bluetooth ear piece.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/officia...27001/sizes/o/
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2010, 04:55 PM   #13
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Tweety, coul dyou post a screen / render of it without the wire shown?
I feel like there is a bit of...i don't know how to describe it but...'curded cheese' to the cheek area, but i cant tell for sure with the wires on it.

G-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2010, 05:17 PM   #14
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

haha i think i posted the same thing as you.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2010, 08:50 PM   #15
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,454
Thanks: 63
Thanked 162 Times in 155 Posts
Default

Yer - I messed the cheeks right up - tweaked them. Main update for today is the rear of the hair. Each one was rigged with a simple bone system - then move in to place one by one. Has taken way too long but I am very happy with the results.

wire frame and plain screen grab

http://www.ravage3d.com/images/Avatar/2_2.jpg

Simple renders

http://www.ravage3d.com/images/Avatar/2_1.jpg


As for the front I am not quite sure yet - more breads or a bandanna. The beads are missing at the mo, just because I forgot to add them to the rig and only noticed doing the last few.
__________________

Last edited by tweetytunes : 17-01-2010 at 08:54 PM.
tweetytunes is online now   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.