SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Your Work / Work In Progress / 3d building for game environment
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-06-2010, 10:34 AM   #1
Anthonytony
Subscriber
 
Anthonytony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 3d building for game environment

Hello everyone,
Iím quite new to creating buildings for game environments as I usually build characters, a few weeks ago I made my first building (http://srv01.simply3dworld.com/showt...threadid=34110) and it was ok but the UV layout was totally wrong.
I have recently created a new building with UVís that are layed out better then my previous attempt, for repeated parts of the model I have reused the textures (windows, walls and doors).
At this point I will do some more editing to the geometry to save more polygons.
Anyway please check out my screen grabs and share any suggestions.
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	building03.jpg
Views:	969
Size:	165.8 KB
ID:	44273  
Anthonytony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 12:19 PM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

looks good to me but I must admit I do not know a lot about game environment are you going to bake norm,texture map to a low res mesh to reduce the poly count, just a question..........dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 01:48 PM   #3
Anthonytony
Subscriber
 
Anthonytony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Dave, at the moment I'm going to just use colour map and spec map.
Anthonytony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 09:30 PM   #4
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

for something that is for a game environment i'd say that's a lot more faces than you need
the main building itself you could get away with by just straight out transformed cubes and then if the windows need to be indented then do that by normal maps, provided the game engine you're porting to supports that
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 12:42 AM   #5
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Looks nice mate, but yes. You have far too many polys. If you get rid of the faces by the windows (I know, it's a pain with texturing without them) but it will drastically change your poly count.

Also, a little trick. Some games get rid of a lot of polys by making the stairs sloped, with no individual steps, and then texture map them to look like steps. This also helps a lot with collision detection.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 08:46 AM   #6
Anthonytony
Subscriber
 
Anthonytony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey guys, your right I could save lots of polys by getting rid of the window face's. I will create a new texture map which as more of the repeating windows and the bricks between the windows.
What do you think?

At the moment I have also experience this problem when I save my file as MA format.
Please help
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	crash_out.jpg
Views:	914
Size:	74.9 KB
ID:	44275  
Anthonytony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2010, 10:39 PM   #7
Anthonytony
Subscriber
 
Anthonytony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Guy's, I still don't know whats going on with saving my work in MA format, I not had this problem before but when I find out I will deffo make a post on the subject.

Anyway I have recently made some adjustments to the building, cutting down the tri's from 3900 to 2000.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	building.jpg
Views:	919
Size:	95.7 KB
ID:	44283  
Anthonytony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2010, 07:15 PM   #8
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Looks better, but you can still do more. Here's what it could come down to.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	building.jpg
Views:	893
Size:	187.9 KB
ID:	44286  
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2010, 10:44 PM   #9
Anthonytony
Subscriber
 
Anthonytony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thats really cool man I will give it a go.

So far this is my texture map, I am totally unsure if this is the right way to map a building for games. However it has been surgested that I should title the bricks onto a single map, if so should windows, doors, panels and boarders be on a single map?
Anthonytony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2010, 10:46 PM   #10
Anthonytony
Subscriber
 
Anthonytony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Texture map
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	map.jpg
Views:	894
Size:	64.5 KB
ID:	44290  
Anthonytony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2010, 03:27 AM   #11
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Hi Anthony. If the faces only have brick on them, then just use a small tile-able brick texture map. This will open up more space onto your main texture map for things like doors and windows. This means that you can get more texture data, in an even lower resolution texture.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2010, 11:36 AM   #12
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Unless your building is in the far distance, you could probably use more detail in your model. Here's a building I did, for example:

http://www.mtmckinley.net/projects/book3/building.jpg
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2010, 12:26 PM   #13
Anthonytony
Subscriber
 
Anthonytony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi mtmckinley,


Thatís an excellet piece of work you have and I love the detail of the boarders. Man I wish I had mad skills like you.

If you donít mind me asking how did you layout the texture for your building?

The building I am creating will have some more basic detail for the silouette of the building which I provide in the geometry.

The problem I have is understanding how it should be textured for the Uvís.

However my plan is to create a single tiled texture for the bricks (128 x 128) followed by a single texture for windows (on top of the bricks) railings and boarders will be on another single texture.
Please correct me if I have this wrong.

Here is the building I am inspired by.

( http://www.flickr.com/photos/74805783@N00/2280914840/ )
Anthonytony is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
where can i post info about 3D job openings? atadami Members Lounge 3 03-12-2010 09:51 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.