SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-09-2010, 12:30 PM   #1
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default Robot arms

Hi,

I want to animate a simple robot type figure. I did some tutorials and animate some flesh like characters. But a robot is obviously diffrent because the parts don't tend to bend like flesh and skin does. So maybe using bones is not the best way to go? I used spheres as joints and they are all lose parts. For the hands i wil be using bones because they may flex. But the upper and lower arm are to remain stiff.

What is the best way to go at this or is there a tutorial out there that covers robot rigging?




Johndoe050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2010, 04:18 PM   #2
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I did something similar like this a while back as a test rig and its quiet easy actually. It relies on the same principle.

Instead of binding the skin to the bones, open your outliner and drag and drop your objects you have made onto the section of bones allocated.
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2010, 08:37 PM   #3
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Just to clarify what marlonjohn is saying, you're parenting the geometry to the bones, instead of skinning. The other way of doing this if you don't want to change the hierarchy is to use a parent constraint, which simulates parenting.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2010, 08:50 PM   #4
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

This week i got some time to spare see how far i get.

Thanks guys.
Johndoe050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2010, 12:26 AM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

if you need an example there is a tutorial that comes with maya to do with rigging a robot arm
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2010, 03:54 PM   #6
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

hmmm....

Somehow i can't connect to the tutorial page via the Help -> Tutorials button. I have maya 2010 64bit. Is there an other way of getting this tutorial?
Johndoe050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2010, 04:06 PM   #7
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Does the rest of your help work? The tutorials are in the documentation. Did you install it?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2010, 06:21 PM   #8
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

The rest of the help is not working either. This probaly means I didn't install it. I will search the disc for it. Thanks for the help so far guys.
Johndoe050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2010, 06:46 PM   #9
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Thanks for the feedback. I used bones but instead of bindingskin I parented the joints to the objects. So far so good.

Cheers
Johndoe050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 07:16 PM   #10
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I am going apesh*t here. :headbang:

I have my character completly rigged and ready for animation.


But as soon as I touch the time slider to go to another frame the some parts of the model pop out. In this case the Index and pinky finger move way up and the head drops down a little.


Does anyone have any idear what I did wrong?

Edit:

I figured out the fingers. During the rigging I think I set some sort of key on the index en pinky.

I used break connection on the translate and scale. I did nothing to the Rotates because i got a setdriven key on it for a fingercurl. But normaly it is not yellow but orange. But at least now it stays put. I still cant figure out why the skull drops down.

Last edited by Johndoe050 : 04-10-2010 at 07:45 PM.
Johndoe050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 07:47 PM   #11
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Have you tried freezing transformation and delete history before you start rigging, I notice you have locators are these used for constaints...............dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 08:07 PM   #12
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by daverave
Have you tried freezing transformation and delete history before you start rigging, I notice you have locators are these used for constaints...............dave
I tried to be consistant with the freeze transformation and delete history with the model. But i might have been a little bit sloppy with the bones.

The locators are for the hand controls.
Johndoe050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 12:48 PM   #13
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I had to learn the hard way. Never ever ever forget to clean up your model. I forgot to freeze transform on the head and it had a long list of history on it. I fixed it and now I am ready for animation. Thanks guys.

Screens


Arrgggh
Johndoe050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 07:58 PM   #14
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

haha, it's angry like you
good to see you resolved your issues
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.