SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / Scaling in Maya
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-10-2010, 05:00 PM   #1
BrianM
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Scaling in Maya

Hi all,
I'm making a model of an apartment based on blueprints and i'd like to do it to scale but i can't really wrap my head around how it works in maya with the grid units and actual real world meters. Basically i want the whole thing to be 13x9 meters so with the settings to meters do the individual grid squares represent 1 meter or 5 meters, tried looking online but ended up more confused
Can someone enlighten a noob?

Cheers Brian
BrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2010, 05:38 PM   #2
hamidz90
Registered User
 
hamidz90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

go on Windows - setting/preferences - preferences

a window should open up, in there go in the setting menu and then in the working unit section where it says linear choose meter........hope this helps
hamidz90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2010, 05:51 PM   #3
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,486
Thanks: 15
Thanked 641 Times in 564 Posts
Default

That depends on what your grid looks like, I don't know if you fiddled with grid settings or not, but by default the grid divisions represent 1 unit of measurement. Check the Display section of the Display>Grid options and set "Perspective grid numbers" to "On Axes" just to be sure and maybe even set the grid size and subdivide it the units into something more suitable.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2010, 06:20 PM   #4
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

You can use the create > measuring tools > distance tool to check the actual distance of your objects, or use Ctrl+t to create a bounding box manipulator that will show the actual size (in whatever units you've set).
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.