SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-01-2003, 04:24 PM   #1
Lord Shadow
Registered User
 
Lord Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Liquids

What would be the best way to make a liquid inside a beaker that bubbles and smokes? Also, if I have a thin glass tube, what would be the best way to simulate a liquid flowing through it?
__________________
-I swear it was like that when I got here-
Lord Shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 04:38 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

one way I've seen is to have your main "liquid quantity" object, and then use a particle emitter emitting blobby particles with the lifespan set so they pop when they get to the hieght you want.


Using the Particle Flow Path (under the Effects menu I believe) would be good for flowing through a tube, I think.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 09:14 PM   #3
Lord Shadow
Registered User
 
Lord Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am very new at this, so bear with me. Whenever I try to use particles, they don't show up and I get some message about hardware rendering. How do I fix this?
__________________
-I swear it was like that when I got here-
Lord Shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 09:50 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

you have 2 different types of particles. Software Renderable and Hardware Renderable. The only Software Renderable particles, I believe, are Clouds, Tubes, and Blobby Surfaces. The rest are Hardware Render particles.

Under Window > Rendering Editors > Hardware Render (or something to that effect) is the Hardware Render window. Using this renderer, you will need to render the particles.

Than, render your scene without them. In an editing program, such as Premier or After Effects, combine the two renders for the final product.

This may be a little advanced for your current stage in learning, but it's good info.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 11:52 PM   #5
Lord Shadow
Registered User
 
Lord Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

I have used Premier before. Thank you for the information-- I greatly appreciate it!
__________________
-I swear it was like that when I got here-
Lord Shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.