SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Getting UV Texuture Editor
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-12-2010, 06:52 AM   #1
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 484
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default Getting UV Texuture Editor

So at home I have a dual screen set up for my laptop and have all my editors on the 2nd screen. Well im at work now and dont have 2 monitors...is there a way to get them back to my one screen?
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ozgalis For This Useful Post:
Old 26-12-2010, 07:02 AM   #2
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 484
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

so unless maya is different it's not the lack of dual monitors, my browser was open on my second monitor and opens here just fine.

Edit: So it may actually be the dual screen issue, I cant open my hypershade (was on 2nd screen) but can open my Outliner and any other editor that was on the 1st screen still. Also just realized I should have probably posted this in the Tech area.

Last edited by Ozgalis : 26-12-2010 at 07:09 AM.
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ozgalis For This Useful Post:
Old 27-12-2010, 11:25 PM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Maya appears to remember where the windows were when you last opened (usability reasons i suspect)

if you're on windows you can easily get the windows back onto your first monitor without having to plug in a second monitor.

- use the hot key or menu to open the window
- that should bring the window into focus.
- without clicking anywhere hit alt+space, that gets you the right click menu on the menu bar
- hit enter (it should be 'move' highlighted) and hit an arrow key. then move your mouse and the window will follow it.
easy.
you can try it out first on a window in your first monitor, that way you know what's happening. sometimes windows have 'restore' highlighted first and you have to hit down to get to move.

if you're using windows 7 you can use the window + left arrow to get it to change side.

if you're using mac i assume it'll show up in that stupid spaces thing (although macs realise they don't have a second monitor so it would probably just appear on your first one anyway)

its not that you can't open it, its that you are opening it but it's off screen..
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chirone For This Useful Post:
Old 27-12-2010, 11:59 PM   #4
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 484
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

I will have to try it out when I get home, dont have my computer with me at the moment. Will let you know what the verdict is.
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ozgalis For This Useful Post:
Old 29-12-2010, 11:44 AM   #5
groovemeteor
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I've had that same problem!

If you're on a MAC you can use an AppleScript called GatherWindows.
http://snipplr.com/view/8645/gather-windows/

Just load it into AppleScript Editor and press play. You can also save it as an "application" for later use.
groovemeteor is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to groovemeteor For This Useful Post:
Old 12-08-2011, 09:36 AM   #6
MichaelOrchid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks - Worked like a charm
MichaelOrchid is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MichaelOrchid For This Useful Post:
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
normal map and uv map 2011 omegaend Maya Materials & Textures 6 01-02-2011 06:34 AM
UV layout question Rhetoric Camel Maya Materials & Textures 2 20-12-2010 02:38 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.