SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Shadows and lighting
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-01-2003, 12:16 AM   #1
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Shadows and lighting

How can i get shadows to show up? They wont show.

Also, i know maya automaticaly puts in default lighting. How can I keep the defaults, and add my own. If I add a light, it stops using defaults.
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2003, 12:23 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

You have to turn on either Depth Map Shadows or Raytrace Shadows in your lights.

If you use Raytrace Shadows, make sure you turn on the Raytracing in the Render Globals.

I'm not sure about using the default lighting in addition to your own. I've never had a situation where I WANTED to use the default lighting. :p
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2003, 12:42 AM   #3
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The default lighting gets wierd as you spin your camera around, so I wouldn't keep em for quality rendering purposes.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2003, 03:07 PM   #4
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

to create a shadow... create a light, the in the channel editor, turn on Raytrace shadow or Depth map shadow... make sure to turn on Raytracing in the Rnder globals...
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2003, 07:16 PM   #5
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, but still. I want to keep default lighting, but when i add a spot light, it takes off defaults. I cant figure out how to get good lighting. So i need defaults.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2003, 07:32 PM   #6
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

never mind on the defaults. When i turned on ray trace shadowing, I get little grainy black dots for shodows. At highest quality...
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2003, 07:41 PM   #7
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

a screenshot perhaps???
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2003, 07:44 PM   #8
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

may want to adjust your raytracing options in the light and/or in the Render Globals.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2003, 07:59 PM   #9
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no i was doing a full render. I got it to work. Once i changed it to depth map, that helped a little. Then i found out I had the Anti-Aliasing on highest quality, but on preview mode.

Once i changed it to production mode, it turned out much better.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!

Last edited by Ultragames : 26-01-2003 at 10:47 PM.
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
glass se7enhedd Lighting & Rendering 18 10-12-2010 01:27 AM
Open Challenge -Jerry Can Texturing honestdom Battle Arena 77 03-12-2010 12:20 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.