SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2011, 04:51 PM   #1
gtovey
Registered User
 
gtovey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon!!
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
Default camera help

ok i have a glass oh water pouring into another glass and i have it animated and textured pretty good.. now i want to make it into a movie but i want to really focus on the water pouring out not on the background.. i want the background to be visible just maybe a little blury. heres a pic of the water being poured and i'd like the water to not be blury i think it might have to do with motion blur but im not sure..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wateringlassGT.jpeg
Views:	73
Size:	128.0 KB
ID:	46361  
gtovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 06:26 PM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,487
Thanks: 15
Thanked 641 Times in 564 Posts
Default

What you're thinking of is "depth of field" commonly referred to as "Dof" and not motion blur. And looking at the particles, it seems like they're motion blurred already.

Dof can be simulated a few different ways. For the first two you will need to whip out Maya's distance measurement tool and get a reading from your camera to your subject(Create>Measure Tool >Distance Tool). Lets call that number X distance.

1. The Depth of field attribute on Maya cameras which is the most obvious way, but it's very dependent on your AA sampling in the render settings to eliminate any grain.

2. If you're using Mental Ray, you can plug either one of MR's dof shaders into one of the camera's lens shader slots - "physical_lens_dof" or "mia_lens_bokeh" ( I prefer this one).

The camera will need the X distance value so it knows where to focus, if you're using method 1. its the "focus distance" and for method 2, it would be the "Plane" attribute.

or

3. Render out z-depth pass or passes and use that to control a blurring filter in a compositing program.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:50 PM   #3
gtovey
Registered User
 
gtovey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon!!
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
Default

thank you soo much i'll keep messing with it and see wat i can do and upload another pic later thanks again!!!
gtovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:41 PM   #4
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Since this is an animation, I'd recommend a depth pass (Genny's option 3) and composite it in another program (e.g. AE) if you have one.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2011, 10:48 PM   #5
gtovey
Registered User
 
gtovey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon!!
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
Default

stwert how i do this??
gtovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2011, 12:52 AM   #6
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Create a new render layer and add all your objects to it. Open the attributes on the render layer (RMB > Attributes). Set the render layer preset to Luminance Depth. Follow the connections to setRange node. Break the connections on the Old Min and Old Max. Set values for these such that when you render, the foreground is nice and bright and the far objects are close to black (these values are distance from camera, which you can determine using the Object Details in the HUD). Hope that helps.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2011, 04:21 PM   #7
gtovey
Registered User
 
gtovey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon!!
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
Default

hmm im not sure i know wat to do here?? :/
gtovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2011, 04:41 PM   #8
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Well, there's an excellent tutorial here: http://simplymaya.com/autodesk-maya-...=182&sub_cat=0 And that gives all the detailed steps, but since you might not want to spend money, I'd probably go with Genny's first solution. Only trouble is I haven't tried it that way, so best to look up Depth of Field in the Maya help.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Camera problem hobs Technical Issues 1 27-02-2011 04:21 AM
Compositing 3D into a still image - help plz tweetytunes Members Lounge 8 15-02-2011 09:18 AM
January Challenge Winner.... Jay Previous Challenges (Archives) 8 12-02-2011 03:09 AM
Camera rendering problem! Aurorap Lighting & Rendering 2 08-01-2011 09:42 PM
First Maya Project - Yet another guitar joni.giuro Finished Work 7 21-12-2010 05:31 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.