SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Human IK bindpose
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2011, 10:35 AM   #1
Stephen
Subscriber
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default Human IK bindpose

So how does it work?
I have created a character using mayas HumanIK and skinned it to my poly mesh. I deform the IK system with the default controls but how do you go back to bind pose?

The poly mesh goes back to bindpose leaving the rig in it's posed position!!
Do you have to select all your controls and set them back to zero or is there a short cut?

Many thanks
__________________
It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
www.origin3d.co.uk
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stephen For This Useful Post:
Old 10-04-2011, 10:51 AM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

zero out the controls?
Just do it once, grab the code from the script editor and put it on a shelf.

I think only joints hold bind pose information and joints are usually controlled by curves once rigged so the bind pose info becomes redundant.

Usually people would deal with skinning in a separate scene file where they would use the bind pose information to ensure everything is where it needs to be before connecting controllers with a script.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative

Last edited by LauriePriest : 10-04-2011 at 10:54 AM.
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to LauriePriest For This Useful Post:
Old 10-04-2011, 01:28 PM   #3
Stephen
Subscriber
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Well I'm glad you said that as I was starting to think I was missing something.
In Maya 2012 you can create a HIK rig with controls but these controls have trans on them so setting them back to zero is no good.

I'm just not understanding this HIK system yet in Maya..

cheers
__________________
It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
www.origin3d.co.uk
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stephen For This Useful Post:
Old 11-04-2011, 10:14 AM   #4
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Why is setting the trans back to 0 no good?
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to LauriePriest For This Useful Post:
Old 11-04-2011, 07:19 PM   #5
Stephen
Subscriber
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Because the controls that get created are not at zero, they have translations on them.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rig.jpg
Views:	690
Size:	51.1 KB
ID:	46722  
__________________
It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
www.origin3d.co.uk

Last edited by Stephen : 11-04-2011 at 07:23 PM.
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stephen For This Useful Post:
Old 12-04-2011, 01:13 PM   #6
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Ah lame, then they are shitty controllers.
Check the help to see if the effectors store there original position information otherwise you will need to create zeroed out curves for the actual rig.
It looks like the effectors just extend all the attirbutes you will need to one node rather than having it all scattered around.

To make controls that are zeored out, an easy way is to parent a circle to the effector, zero it out. Unparent it, duplicate it and parent the duplicate to the original and then delete the shape of the original. You have to make sure that the original and now parent curve transform is a child of the same parent as the effector.

Does that make any sense?
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to LauriePriest For This Useful Post:
Old 13-04-2011, 08:51 AM   #7
Stephen
Subscriber
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Thanks for your reply.
Yeah I know what you mean but it seems rather daft to have to go through more steps to get it working when it should be zeroed out in the first place. This make me think I still have the wrong idea about using this setup. I think we will stick with AdvancedSkeleton for now, though www.ikinema.com looks to be promising.
__________________
It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
www.origin3d.co.uk
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stephen For This Useful Post:
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
human body test bullet1968 Members Lounge 5 03-02-2011 09:58 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.