Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 09-04-2013 , 01:38 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6

Design object as a "block"

Hi I want to design an object and duplicate it afterwards.

The catch is that if I have to adjust the same object, the duplicated objects can also be adjusted automatically (just like blocks in Autocad).

Is there a way to do this?

# 2 09-04-2013 , 01:55 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 19
When you say "Duplicate," do you mean Copy and Paste?

# 3 09-04-2013 , 02:00 PM
Juanpax's Avatar
Having Fun!!!!
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 157
Create and edge in the middle of your object and duplicated over as and instance. Go into the main menu: Edit, duplicate especial and hit the small box next to it this will open a menu. On the geometry type choose instance (this will allow the duplicated piece to be affected automatically by the other half) then on the scale choose -1 on whatever axis you want your object to be mirrored. In the picture I have mine se to be mirrored on the x axis.

Attached Thumbnails
# 4 09-04-2013 , 02:11 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
yes (more or less).

# 5 09-04-2013 , 02:23 PM
Juanpax's Avatar
Having Fun!!!!
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 157
....same thing can be applied to an object. Create a cube, duplicated with an instance and every change you make to the cube its going to affect the other. I think thats what your looking for.


Last edited by Juanpax; 09-04-2013 at 02:25 PM.
# 6 09-04-2013 , 02:54 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
ok I got it. Thanks. user added image

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads