SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2003, 09:34 PM   #1
d24e
Subscriber
 
d24e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya Layout

Here's a screenshot of how I reduced my interface for working in Maya.
Encircled in red (last used tool, snap buttons and channelbox/toolbox/attribute editor) are the only tools that I still want to see on my screen.
Is there a way to get them in a new hotbox menu or marking menu?

It'd be nice to actually work in full screen space since I only have a 17" monitor and am working in 1152*864.
d24e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 09:36 PM   #2
d24e
Subscriber
 
d24e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sry, I forgat to add the pic:o
here it is:
d24e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 09:38 PM   #3
d24e
Subscriber
 
d24e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ups, feel free to delete the previous msg administrator. sry about that.
d24e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 09:51 PM   #4
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You can create a shelf for those buttons, but you cant add the last used tool button as i changes all the time

__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 10:01 PM   #5
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

u dnt need a hotbox or anything cos there are hotkeys for them
attribute editor/layer view = ctrl A
snap to grid = hold x
snap to curve = hold c
snap to point = hold v
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 10:33 PM   #6
d24e
Subscriber
 
d24e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I check out what I can do with some custom made shelves. Hopefully they won't take up too much space.
as for the hotkeys, thx Nem. I'll attach a little paper to my monitor to learn them fast as I'm using them.
Is there a hotkey for the Toolsettingswindow? I mean the one that's attached like the channelbox. Not a floating window.
d24e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 11:02 PM   #7
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

There's a tutorial in the vid section showing you how to make custom marking menus. Highly recommended.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2003, 01:53 AM   #8
Oculus
Subscriber
 
Oculus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah, if you use these a whole bunch, you could just make yourself a custom marking menu. It's really simple to do. =]
__________________
- Chris L. Harkins -
Oculus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2003, 11:20 AM   #9
d24e
Subscriber
 
d24e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ya, I know how to make one (saw the vids here and at digitaltutors) but I can't see the code in my script editor when I hit the middle button at the right-top (show/hide toolsettings).
Does anyone know a way to get that in a menu?
As for the snap tools, I've learned those hotkeys by now.
I'll leave the toolbox on for now until I make myself a shelf with more than just 1 button (last used tool) in it.
d24e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 09:06 PM   #10
Jozvex
Registered User
 
Jozvex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's just:

ToggleToolSettings;
Jozvex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 10:25 PM   #11
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

oh i missed this the first time, but u also circled sumthing in the toolboxon the left, that buttons ur last tool button, hotkey for that is "Y"
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 06:48 AM   #12
d24e
Subscriber
 
d24e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thx Jozvex, I'll try that out tonight (at school now) and Nem, thx for your answer but I already knew that button

I made 2 shelves for now (misc and poly), later to be added when I learn about the other techniques in Maya.
Since the Last used tool can't be in a shelf, I left the toolbox on so I can always see what the tool is set to.
__________________
<a href="http://www.d2lodshop.com" target="blank">D2lodshop</a>
<a href="http://www.gatcity.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3" target="blank">GAT City</a>
<a href="http://www.rhymbox.com" target="blank">XMPP instant messaging</a>
d24e is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.