SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


Go Back   Simply Maya User Community / Modeling / Modeling

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14-05-2018, 10:35 AM   #1
SNARK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 3
Default Insert Edge Loop: How to Control Placement

Hi.

I am modeling plaques for bronze displays and need to establish an extruded frame all around the inside of the square edge. When I use the Insert Loop I see no little boxes or other indicators showing a decimal position for the line so I can match the placements. How do I control precise placement of the Insert Loops?

Thanks!

~T.~

Tim Lawrence
ConservationArts.net
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Croc_Plaque_02.jpg (313.8 KB, 10 views)
SNARK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2018, 04:36 PM   #2
clocker1
Bored but busy
 
clocker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNARK View Post
Hi.

I am modeling plaques for bronze displays and need to establish an extruded frame all around the inside of the square edge. When I use the Insert Loop I see no little boxes or other indicators showing a decimal position for the line so I can match the placements. How do I control precise placement of the Insert Loops?

Thanks!

~T.~

Tim Lawrence
ConservationArts.net
Without the insert edgeloop tool selected and in object mode, after you insert the edgeloop, click on the polySplitRing node in the chanel box. The entry you want is weight.

Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
clocker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2018, 05:06 PM   #3
SNARK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks, Clocker. Will pursue. ~T.~
SNARK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edge loop showing only a dot problem. S0NOfG0D Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 14 20-01-2015 03:02 PM
Problem with Insert Edge Loop Tool looni Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 13-12-2014 10:18 AM
Insert edge loop or use crease tool? mendosa69 Modeling 7 09-12-2014 02:09 PM
Insert edge loop gets sticky djwaterman Modeling 3 24-04-2012 05:48 AM
Insert edge loop freeze up djwaterman Modeling 4 17-03-2012 11:10 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.