SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Hi, project files?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2003, 12:24 PM   #1
ade90054
Registered User
 
ade90054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 143
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hi, project files?

Hi, I was wondering if someone could tell me if there is a way you can point Maya to a single directory with all your maps/textures in. This is because when I change computers at uni I have to tell maya where each texture is for each object in it's new directory ( very time consuming!!! ) When I used Max you would get an error message telling you that it could not find your maps then all you had to do was point it to the new folder where the maps existed, hey presto! Please help this is driving me mad!!!

Thanks, James.
ade90054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2003, 12:49 PM   #2
d24e
Subscriber
 
d24e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Doesn't it work when you make a project and put all files in their maps of that new project?

help me out plz:http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthr...&threadid=4954
__________________
<a href="http://www.d2lodshop.com" target="blank">D2lodshop</a>
<a href="http://www.gatcity.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3" target="blank">GAT City</a>
<a href="http://www.rhymbox.com" target="blank">XMPP instant messaging</a>
d24e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2003, 01:06 PM   #3
ade90054
Registered User
 
ade90054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 143
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well not really, because I sometimes have to put the project onto a different drive letter? We have a network drive but this is pretty slow to read files from and only meant to be used for rendering anyway?
ade90054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2003, 01:17 PM   #4
d24e
Subscriber
 
d24e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

either wait for someone more experienced in maya than me, or try at other forums like cgtalk or highend3d.
That's all the advice I can give you, sry
__________________
<a href="http://www.d2lodshop.com" target="blank">D2lodshop</a>
<a href="http://www.gatcity.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3" target="blank">GAT City</a>
<a href="http://www.rhymbox.com" target="blank">XMPP instant messaging</a>
d24e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2003, 01:22 PM   #5
ade90054
Registered User
 
ade90054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 143
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks!

No worries, thanks for ya help anyway.
ade90054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2003, 02:33 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

you can tell your textures to look for the file in "sourceimages/file.jpg" instead of "D:\Maya Projects\Robot\sourceimages\file.jpg".
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2003, 02:56 PM   #7
ade90054
Registered User
 
ade90054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 143
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks.

Thanks mtmckinley, one quick question, where do I have to type "sourceimages/file.jpg", also will this make all the textures in hypershade look in the same place?
ade90054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2003, 03:12 PM   #8
M
Subscriber
 
M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Hey, if you create a project, then you can set some of the attributes there... click (default) and then OK (something like that).. and then you can model and stuff, put files into that project folder (it will be in mydocuments>Maya>projects>projectname>) and then you can put all the images in the sourceimages file directory. To link the files up through maya, you can take a lambert, and then double click it through the hypershade, beside where it says color in the attribute editor click that, then click on file and then browse for your image. It will automatically put you to the sourceimages folder. When you make your project, you can specify if you want it to look into a different location other than that. Hope that helps!
__________________
"I should call you sugar maple tree cause i'd totally tap that" haha

email - mattwettstein@gmail.com
M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2003, 03:22 PM   #9
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Yes, make sure you are making a project directory. (File > Project > New)
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Project: District 9 Tessla Riffle ctbram Work In Progress 82 20-11-2010 10:43 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.