SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / help installin GIJoe plugin.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-04-2003, 02:21 AM   #16
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

1. Yep

2. Yep (C:\Documents and Settings\chris\maya\4.0\scripts\GIJoe.lights) & (C:\Documents and Settings\chris\maya\4.0\scripts\GI_Joe.mel)

3. Yep...see above.
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 02:22 AM   #17
alexgc
Subscriber
 
alexgc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 288
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok take a look at my last post
alexgc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 02:46 AM   #18
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got that that syntax error while trying to source the GI_Joe.lights and i cant open that file in notepad

I get nothing when i try to source the GI_Joe.mel
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 02:52 AM   #19
alexgc
Subscriber
 
alexgc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 288
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thats strange, u shouldnt have to source the GI_Joe.lights file...

It should do it automatically...have u created a GI_Joe shelf icon??

if so source just the GI_Joe script and then click on the button

then see what happens...it should work...hmmm
alexgc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 07:36 AM   #20
Ritualistic
Registered User
 
Ritualistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmm, Ive managed to get GI Joe running, but whenever I try to change anything in the Menu such as sky attributes, I just get an error:No object matches name message next to the command line.

What is causing this?
Ritualistic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 02:26 PM   #21
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

is it the .geoshader?? i haven;t figured that out yet...

and chris,,, check the spelling... it should be

source GI_Joe

or just copy and paste the above text in the command line
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 02:53 PM   #22
Ritualistic
Registered User
 
Ritualistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

NP, got it fixed
Ritualistic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 04:33 PM   #23
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

alexgc: I weird, I have everything in the right place, i already have a shelf icon. When i click on it i get the GI_Joe window. I click Go Create and all the backslashes have been removed. I've tried all the suggestion, none of them worked
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 07:30 PM   #24
Ritualistic
Registered User
 
Ritualistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

z1mmnd14, did you put the GI_Joe file in multiple locations trying to get it to work? Make sure all of them are mapped with the proper location. (In case your not sure which file in which location works)
Ritualistic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 11:15 PM   #25
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey tariqrf, you do any kind of programming? Not many know about the// thing. In java we use // to coment out a line of code, or /* bla bla */ to coment out and entire setion.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 11:42 PM   #26
doodle
Registered User
 
doodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ritualistic: these are all the maya script folders i have on the computer. I've tried them all, but seeing as i'm at a dead end, i'll re-try them tomorrow

The .lights & .MEL files are here
C:\Documents and Settings\chris\maya\4.0\scripts

other script folders
C:\Documents and Settings\chris\maya\scripts
C:\Documents and Settings\chris\My Documents\maya\4.0\scripts
C:\Documents and Settings\chris\My Documents\maya\scripts
C:\Documents and Settings\chris\My Documents\maya\4.0\prefs\shelves
__________________
Yeah, but no but yeah but no....
doodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 02:17 PM   #27
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Ultragames: Yeah..i do do a bit of programming, but i left that field,, but i do have knowledge about it tho..

z1mmnd14: i have 4.5, but i remember that for 4, the location is
C:\AW\Maya\4.0.. whatever, in 4.0, there is a scripts folder in it... try putting it there..

and wait.. i read that post of yours, you dont need to source the .lights file, only type the following in the command:

source GI_Joe [enter]
GI_Joe [enter]

thats it,,, hope now it works
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.