SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-04-2003, 12:32 AM   #1
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default RAM?

how much ram is enough for maya and heavy modelling? and please dont say the more the better :p
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2003, 12:40 AM   #2
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the more the better.

About 1 gig should do. OR: Get 2-3Gb, and remove your entire page file. This will speed up your entire computer ALOT. That way you arnt held back by you HD speed.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2003, 12:40 AM   #3
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

you'll need at least 512meg ram but a gig+ is better (as you said the more the better!)
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2003, 12:47 AM   #4
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

c&p:

im getin an nforce2 motherboard with dual channel mem, so my question is, is it better to use two sticks of 512mb making use of the dual channel, or to have 3 sticks of 512mb giving me more mem?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2003, 12:49 AM   #5
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

i'm not sure, I always have the philosphy that more is better but I dont know enough about the dual channel mem to give an informed answer sorry
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2003, 12:51 AM   #6
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

hey thats cool man thx for replying anyway

can anyone help me with this?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2003, 12:53 AM   #7
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

it's cool, but spare a thought for us poor guys (me!) stuck on a p3 700 with 256meg ram that runs like a big soft turd!!

Thank god for the machines at uni!

Hope you get some help but if you dont get anything useful try www.tomshardware.com or even www.hardware.com they should have loads of stuff with reviews etc etc

good luck
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2003, 03:31 AM   #8
twisteddragon33
Registered User
 
twisteddragon33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 1,945
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Even with duel i would think the more the better woudl make up for anything you woudl gain with the duel.

Im only running on 1.2gig processor and 512ddr and im running fine... except if i try to do too many things at once i get slowdown(im known for heavy multitasking, 3 webbrownsers open, paintshoppro, visual basic, lightwave, bryce, aim, yahoo, msn messengers, e-mail, yahoo chat, voice chat, and others)

lol. But i would suggest more.
__________________
________________________
AIM: SublimeDragon33
Catch me if i'm on. Always up for a chat.
e-mail: sublimedragon33@gmail.com
twisteddragon33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2003, 04:01 AM   #9
-<{ JB }>-
Subscriber
 
-<{ JB }>-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 510
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's reccommended to have a minimum of 512Mb of RAM for Maya. But as everybody has said - "the more the better" . I've got 2 chips of 512Mb DDR333 - and that's satisfying...... for now .
__________________
Take a glance at my <a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9428"><b>Porsche 959</b></a> WIP
-<{ JB }>- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2003, 08:56 AM   #10
essahc
Subscriber
 
essahc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 81
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the two sticks of 512 will probably be much cheaper than one of 1gig. I haven't been able to tell the differance in performance, but havent had my own machine to dabble with.....

I agree that the Idea would be to get enough ram to shut down virtual mem, but without any I wonder if windows could step in with vm when needed. I would love to hear more about this.

I know that compleatly disabling paging would crash an aix box. I have ran 64gig of sdram on 24 risc processors and still crashed on a load without paging space. got a bizare core dump including :"TOO SHORT VALUE FOR PAGEFILE QUOTA GIVE UNPREDICTABLE R"

Man, Nem I love to hear about someone ready to build. My 850 T-bird with 384mb sdram is kinda slow on the render but fine for modeling. I'm back in school so I may have to wait on the upgrade.
__________________
`,,`
Chris
essahc@sbcglobal.net
essahc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2003, 03:55 PM   #11
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Sooooooooooooo...you think my computer isn't "verry cool" for modelling & stuff with Maya? :

- Celeron 600 MHz
- 128 SDR ram
- totally fu**ed MB

yeah, I know it not good. I'm trying to make a model of Dragon, but it the comp is....well,slow. Man, I really need to buy a comp.

An, never mind, proceed
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2003, 12:14 AM   #12
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

I run on a

P4 2.8 GHz
1 GIG RDRAM (PC 1066)

i suggest getting two sticks of 512's and two sticks of 256's.. that should do
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2003, 12:15 AM   #13
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

apart from the fact i only have 3 dimm slots lol
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2003, 12:20 AM   #14
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Zocky
Sooooooooooooo...you think my computer isn't "verry cool" for modelling & stuff with Maya? :

- Celeron 600 MHz
- 128 SDR ram
- totally fu**ed MB
Welcome to the club mate
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2003, 12:38 AM   #15
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

LOL!!
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.