SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Lighting & Rendering / Rendering shadows, for compositing

Lighting & Rendering General Lighting, Camera & Rendering Related Topics

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
15-05-2003, 09:17 PM   #1
Vectorman
Subscriber
 
Vectorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Framingham, MA United States
Posts: 1,112
Rendering shadows, for compositing
Does anyone know how to render out a shadow, like from the sun, to my spaceship, and the shadow will appear on the Live Action ground that was filmed already. Does anyone understand?
__________________

"When you are born, you have a resposiblilty to program you're own mind, if you do not accept this responsiblilty, then the world will do it for you"
Aol Instant messenger: mrcoolbp2
  Reply with quote
19-05-2003, 03:16 PM   #2
ragecgi
Registered User
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Yep

This is what the USE BACKGROUND shader is for.

Check out the Docs for usage.

Basicly, in Maya, you create a piece of geometry to "catch" the shadow from your light so it appears to be falling on an area of your bg plate footage.

That piece of geometry is not rendered, but the shadow IS
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
  Reply with quote
19-05-2003, 03:27 PM   #3
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
make sure you go into the shader properties of the use background and turn off its reflectivity if you are just using it for the ground.. I have made the mistake of not noticing that, and it can really screw up the ground.
Brian
__________________
Please check
My (old) website!
  Reply with quote
19-05-2003, 03:31 PM   #4
ragecgi
Registered User
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Good point Brian!

...hehe, I made that mistake in the past as well
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
  Reply with quote
19-05-2003, 06:23 PM   #5
Vectorman
Subscriber
 
Vectorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Framingham, MA United States
Posts: 1,112
weird once again Simplymaya didn't tell me about this reply until izzys second post. Either way thanx again guys, hopefully i can make some shadows in the movie now!
__________________

"When you are born, you have a resposiblilty to program you're own mind, if you do not accept this responsiblilty, then the world will do it for you"
Aol Instant messenger: mrcoolbp2
  Reply with quote
19-05-2003, 06:38 PM   #6
ragecgi
Registered User
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Not sure about the email notification, I never use it, I always have SM open in ma browsa, so I can just keep hitting refresh in the "new posts search page", and if the last person who replied to a post changes, then I check it out

But on your movie, cool! I'll check your thread occasionally to see when you have a sample of the cg shadow footage available
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
  Reply with quote
19-05-2003, 07:01 PM   #7
Vectorman
Subscriber
 
Vectorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Framingham, MA United States
Posts: 1,112
also check out the smoke, i used a shader from Pure Mornings Stuntplanes and it looks cool! (there is an animation)
__________________

"When you are born, you have a resposiblilty to program you're own mind, if you do not accept this responsiblilty, then the world will do it for you"
Aol Instant messenger: mrcoolbp2
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Render not rendering... Miralina Maya Technical Issues 1 04-04-2014 12:25 AM
Extremely confused, Batch rendering issue! mouseyflash Lighting & Rendering 0 04-04-2013 11:06 PM
Why doesn't Mental Ray have .avi available for batch rendering? SilverFeather Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 42 07-12-2011 08:47 PM
Why Maya? haka Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 21 10-11-2007 11:14 PM
Batch rendering seems to repeat itself alienscience Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 7 01-02-2005 08:19 PM